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On March 9, 2002, President George
W. Bush signed PL 107-147, the “Job
Creation and Worker Assistance Act
of 2002,” also known as the Eco-
nomic Stimulus package. Under this
new federal law, there is a change to
individual and business income tax
filing for tax years 2001 and after.

For federal income tax purposes,
taxpayers are able to deduct the
“bonus depreciation” of 30 percent
of the cost of capital assets acquired
and placed in service between Sep-
tember 10, 2001, and September 11,
2004. Taxpayers depreciate the
remaining 70 percent of the cost
using their normal depreciation
method. For most assets, the normal
depreciation is 70 percent of what the
amount would be if no bonus depre-
ciation was claimed.

How do the new federal and
Illinois laws affect Illinois
Income Tax?

Generally, when a federal law
changes the computation of federal
taxable income or adjusted gross
income, the computation of lllinois net
income also changes.

However, Senate Bill 1543

(Public Act 92-603) “decouples”
lllinois from the federal legislation by
reversing its effects on depreciation.
First, it requires taxpayers to add
back on their Illinois return, the 30
percent federal bonus depreciation.
Second, it allows taxpayers to deduct
the depreciation amount that would
have been allowed on their federal

return if the bonus depreciation law
had not been enacted.

This deduction is allowed for each
year that depreciation is claimed for
an asset, not just for the year in which
the bonus depreciation on the asset is
added back.

What happens when the asset
Is sold?

Under federal law, when an asset is
sold, the gain or loss on the sale of
the asset is equal to the price, minus
the cost of the asset, reduced by all
depreciation deductions. By comput-
ing gains this way, taxpayers are
allowed a deduction for the entire cost
of the asset, either through deprecia-
tion or when the asset is sold. What-
ever gain or loss is reported for fed-
eral purposes is reported for lllinois
purposes as well.

After the lllinois changes to bonus and
regular depreciation are made, total
lllinois depreciation on an asset that is
not fully depreciated will be less than
total federal depreciation. This means
that if federal gain on the asset is
taxed by lllinois, taxpayers will not
receive a deduction for the entire cost
of the asset. To correct this problem,
PA 92-603 requires all of the lllinois
changes to bonus and regular depre-
ciation for an asset to be reversed in
the year the asset is sold. After the
changes are reversed, total Illinois
depreciation will equal total federal
depreciation, and taxpayers will have
received a deduction for the entire
cost of the asset.
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How do I report the lllinois law changes?

You will report the changes on Form IL-4562, Special
Depreciation. This form allows you to figure your
lllinois addition and subtraction modifications. Form
IL-4562 must be completed and attached to your tax
return or amended tax return.

Note: Partnerships, S corporations, trusts, and es-
tates pass these modifications through to their owners
in the same manner as income and report them on

4 Schedule K-1-P, Partner’s or Shareholder’s Share
of Income, Deductions, Credits, and Recapture or

4 Schedule K-1-T, Beneficiary’s Share of Income
and Deductions.

What if | have already filed my tax return?

If you have already filed your federal and lllinois tax
returns reflecting the additional deductions from the
new federal law, you must amend your lllinois return
to add the bonus depreciation back and to subtract
the lllinois depreciation to comply with lllinois’ new
legislation.

You must file

4 Form IL-1040-X, Amended Individual Income Tax
Return;

4 Form IL-1120-X, Amended Corporation Income
and Replacement Tax Return; or

4 Form IL-843, Amended Return or Notice of
Change in Income.

Write “bonus depreciation” in red on the top of your

amended return and attach a completed Form IL-4562.

FY 2003-02

Informational Bulletin

The completed Form IL-4562 will show the amount
you must report as an add back on the appropriate
“other additions” line and the amount you are allowed
to claim as a deduction on the “other subtractions”
line of your amended return.

What about penalties and interest?

If you file an amended return reversing the “bonus
depreciation” by October 15, 2002, we will not
assess any interest or penalty on the resulting under-
payment.

Note: If you receive a notice assessing penalty or
interest, write “bonus depreciation” in red on the top
of the notice and return to the address shown on the
notice.

However, if you file an amended return reversing the
“bonus depreciation” after October 15, 2002, you
will be assessed interest and any applicable penal-
ties. &7

Examples
begin on the next page.
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Examples

Using the information below, the following examples show how to figure

depreciation prior to and after the new legislation for both federal and Illinois law.
Note: If you use the depreciation tables in the instructions for the federal Form 4562, some
of the federal depreciation calculations will be different, but the end result will be the same.

An lllinois taxpayer purchased an asset costing $20,000, which is depreciated as a 5-year property.
Note: No IRC, Section 179 deduction is claimed on this property.

CDepreciation Figured Prior to the New Federal Law)

[For Federal Income Tax Purposes |

Federal depreciation would have been figured as follows:

First year
The depreciation deduction would have been 20 percent
(.20) of $20,000, or $4,000

($20,000 X .20 = $4,000).

Second year
The depreciation basis would have been $16,000, which is
the $20,000 original cost minus the $4,000 depreciation
taken in the first year

($20,000 - $4,000 = $16,000).

The second year depreciation percentage would have
been 40 percent (.40) of $16,000, or $6,400
($16,000 X .40 = $6,400).

|For lllinois Income Tax Purposes |

Any depreciation would have been deducted prior to
federal taxable or adjusted gross income. No depreciation
would have been figured on the lllinois return.

@epreoiation Figured After the New Federal LavD

|For Federal Income Tax Purposes |

Federal depreciation is figured as follows:

First year
The bonus depreciation is 30 percent (.30) of $20,000, or
$6,000

($20,000 X .30 = $6,000).

The $6,000 bonus depreciation is subtracted from the
$20,000 original cost to equal the regular first-year basis
of $14,000

($20,000 - $6,000 = $14,000).

The regular first-year depreciation is 20 percent (.20) of
$14,000, or $2,800
($14,000 X .20 = $2,800).

The $6,000 bonus depreciation is added to the $2,800
regular first-year depreciation to equal the total first-year
federal depreciation deduction of $8,800

($6,000 + $2,800 = $8,800).

[For Illinois Income Tax Purposes |

lllinois addition and subtraction amounts for federal
depreciation are figured as follows:

First year
Addition — The federal bonus depreciation of $6,000 is
added back to lllinois income on the lllinois return.

Subtraction — The lllinois depreciation subtraction is

figured by multiplying the federal regular first-year

depreciation of $2,800 by 42.9 percent (.429*), or $1,201
($2,800 X .429 = $1,201).

*The .429 is 30 divided by 70. The 30 represents the
percentage of bonus depreciation and the 70 represents
the percentage of normal depreciation.

The 42.9 percent multiplied by the normal depreciation
on 70 percent of the asset’s cost equals the 30 percent
reduction in normal depreciation required when the
bonus depreciation is taken.

Note: The following calculation is used to figure the “end
result” (shown at the bottom of the next page).

The $2,800 federal regular depreciation plus the $1,201
Illinois depreciation subtraction equals the combined
first-year depreciation deduction amount allowed for this

property on the federal and the state returns

($2,800 + $1,201 = $4,001).




|For Federal Income Tax Purposes |

Second year
The second-year basis is figured by subtracting the $8,800
first-year federal depreciation deduction from the $20,000
original cost, or $11,200

($20,000 - $8,800 = $11,200).

The regular second-year depreciation is 40 percent (.40) of
$11,200, or $4,480
($11,200 X .40 = $4,480).

[For Illinois Income Tax Purposes |

Second year
Addition — No lllinois addition is required after the first
year.

Subtraction — The lllinois depreciation subtraction is

figured by multiplying the federal regular second-year

depreciation of $4,480 by 42.9 percent (.429%), or $1,922
($4,480 X .429 = $1,922).

Note: The following calculation is used to figure the “end
result” (shown at the bottom of this page).

The $4,480 federal regular depreciation plus the $1,922

Illinois depreciation subtraction equals the combined

second-year depreciation deduction amount allowed for

this property on the federal and the state returns.
(94,480 + $1,922 = $6,402).

Note: Calculations for federal and state income tax purposes continue until the asset is either sold or totally depreciated.

CDepreciation Figured When the Asset is Sold)

Using the information below, the following examples show how to figure
depreciation reflecting the new legislation for both federal and lllinois law when the asset is sold.

An lllinois taxpayer purchased an asset costing $20,000, which is depreciated as a 5-year property.
The taxpayer sells the asset at the end of the second year.
Note: No IRC, Section 179 deduction is claimed on this property.

[For Federal Income Tax Purposes |

End of second year

The $6,000 bonus depreciation is added to the $2,800
regular depreciation in the first year plus the $4,480
regular depreciation in the second year for total federal
depreciation of $13,280

($6,000 + $2,800 + $4,480 = $13,280).

Note: The $13,280 is used to reduce the $20,000 original
cost to reach the adjusted basis of $6,720 that is used to
compute the federal gain or loss on federal Form 4797.

[For lllinois Income Tax Purposes |

End of second year

The addition reported and the subtractions claimed for this
asset are reversed.

Addition — The $1,201 lllinois depreciation subtraction
claimed in the first year plus the $1,922 lllinois deprecia-
tion subtraction claimed in the second year equals the total
addition reported in the year of the sale, or $3,123

($1,201 + $1,922 = $3,123).

Subtraction — The $6,000 special depreciation addition
reported in the first year is subtracted in the year of the
sale.

Note: With the reversal of the Illinois addition and subtrac-

tion amounts, the result is a net subtraction of $2,877

lllinois depreciation for this asset in the year of the sale
($6,000 - $3,123 = $2,877).

End result — The lllinois combined first-year depreciation deduction of $4,001 plus the lllinois combined second-
year depreciation deduction of $6,402 equals the total Illinois depreciation deduction allowed for this asset in the first

two years, or $10,403

($4,001 + $6,402 = $10,403).

The $10,403 plus the $2,877 net subtraction in the year of the sale equals the total lllinois depreciation deducted. This
is the same total amount of depreciation deducted for federal income tax purposes, as shown above
($10,403 + $2,877 = $13,280).




