
 

 

For information or forms 
Visit our website at:    
tax.illinois.gov

Call our 24-hour 
Forms Order Line at: 
1 800 356-6302

Call us at:
1 800 732-8866 or 
217 782-3336

Call our TDD
(telecommunications device   
for the deaf) at: 
1 800 544-5304

         

This bulletin is written to inform you 
of recent changes; it does not replace 
statutes, rules and regulations, or 
court decisions.

Beginning July 1, 2011, the law regarding the type of out-of-state 
retailers required to register and collect use tax has changed.  

1. If you are an out-of-state retailer who has a contract with a person 
located in Illinois under which 

• the person in Illinois directly or indirectly refers customers to you  
 by a link on its website; and 
• you pay the person a commission or other consideration based  
 upon your sales of tangible personal property through the   
 person’s website link; and
•  your cumulative gross receipts from all sales made to   
 customers referred to you by such persons under all such   
 contracts exceed $10,000.00 during the preceding four   
 quarterly periods ending on the last day of March, June,   
  September, and December,

then you are considered a retailer maintaining a place of business in 
this state and are required to register with the department to collect and 
pay Illinois Use Tax. 
To determine if you meet the $10,000.00 threshold, you will need to 
examine your total sales made to customers referred to you by all 
persons located in Illinois for the preceding four quarterly periods 
immediately prior to July 1, 2011. If your cumulative sales for the 
preceding four quarters exceed $10,000.00, you must register to 
collect and pay use tax. If your cumulative sales for the preceding four 
quarters are $10,000.00 or less, you will not register at this time. 

OR 
2.  If you are an out-of-state retailer who has a contract with a person 
located in Illinois under which

• you sell the same or substantially similar line of products as  
 the person located in Illinois using an identical or substantially  
 similar  name, trade name, or trademark as the person   
 located in Illinois; and  
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• you pay a commission or other consideration to  
 the person located in Illinois based on   
 your sales of tangible personal property; and
• your cumulative gross receipts from all sales  
 made to Illinois customers under all such   
 contracts exceed $10,000.00 during    
 the preceding four quarterly periods ending on  
 the last day of  March, June, September, and  
 December,

then you are considered a retailer maintaining a place 
of business in this state and are required to register with 
the department to collect and pay Illinois Use Tax. 
To determine if you meet the $10,000.00 threshold, you 
will need to examine your total sales made to Illinois 
customers under such contracts for the preceding four 
quarterly periods immediately prior to July 1, 2011. If 
your cumulative sales for the preceding four quarters 
exceed $10,000.00, you must register to collect and pay 
use tax. If your cumulative sales for the preceding four 
quarters are $10,000.00 or less, you will not register at 
this time. 

Example 1
JS Gems sells designer jewelry. JS Gems is based in 
New York, where its corporate and sales offices are 
located. 
World Jewelers is located in Illinois and has a store 
and internet website that sells jewelry. JS Gems has 
a contract with World Jewelers under which World 
Jewelers will provide a link on its website to JS Gems. 
When customers use the link through World Jewelers  
to make purchases from JS Gems, JS Gems pays 
World Jewelers a commission. 

2

JS Gems has numerous contracts of this type 
with other persons located in Illinois. Under the 
new law, when the referral sales under all such 
contracts exceed $10,000.00 for the previous four 
quarters, JS Gems is required to register with the 
department and collect and pay use tax on its 
Illinois sales. 

Example 2
Basketball Business is located in New York and 
sells substantially similar items as Sport Company, 
which is located in Illinois. Basketball Business 
has a contract with Sport Company, under which 
Sport Company allows Basketball Business to use 
its logo to sell items similar to items that Sports 
Company sells and Sport Company receives a 
commission based on the sale of tangible personal 
property by Basketball Business. 
Basketball Business has numerous contracts of 
this type with other persons located in Illinois. 
Under the new law, when Basketball Business’ 
cumulative gross receipts from all sales to Illinois 
customers under all such contacts exceed 
$10,000.00 during the previous four quarters, 
Basketball Business is required to register to 
collect and pay use tax on its Illinois sales. 


