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Penalty Changes for Importation
of Liquor into lllinois

To: All licensees under the Liquor Control Act

Effective with the implementation of PA 99-904, changes have been made
regarding criminal charges, based on the amount of liquor, for any persons
who transport and distribute liquor into lllinois without first obtaining the
required licenses from the lllinois Liquor Control Commission (ILCC).
235 ILCS 5/10-1, et seq.

Overview of the law on liquor importation
Beginning January 1, 2017, any person who transports liquor into this state
is guilty of a Class 4 felony if he/she does not have
one of the appropriate liquor license(s) issued by the
ILCC:

Illinois
* Manufacturer’s Liquor License; Liquor Control
* Distributor’s Liquor License; Commission
e Winery Shipper’s License;
e Importing Distributor’s Liquor License; or

Non-resident Dealer’s Liquor License.

The felony applies when the quantity is at least:

e 108 liters/28.53 gal/12 cases

(12 - 750m| bottles per case) of wine
e 45 liters/11.88 gal/5 cases

(12 - 750ml bottles per case) of distilled spirits
e 118 liters/31.17 gal/13 cases

(24 - 120z cans per case) of beer

What if | transport less than the above listed amounts?
You are guilty of a business offense and fined not more than $1,000 for the first
offense. For each subsequent offense, you are guilty of a Class 4 felony.

What happens if my license just expired?

If your license expired within 30 days prior to the violation, you are guilty of a
business offense and fined not more than $1,000 for the first offense. For each
subsequent offense, you are guilty of a Class 4 felony.
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Have penalties increased for wine shipments?

Yes. If you illegally ship wine into Illinois, are sent a cease

and desist notice from the ILCC, and continue to ship wine
into lllinois, you also are guilty of a Class 4 felony for each

offense.

What other penalties are there for retailers?
Properly licensed retailers are not allowed to sell liquor

products unless they were purchased from a duly licensed

lllinois distributor, importing distributor, or manufacturer.
In addition to the above charges, retailers who knowingly
furnish, give, sell, or otherwise bring alcoholic liquor into

lllinois shall have their liquor license(s) suspended for seven
days for the first offense and have their license revoked for

the second offense by the ILCC.

What could happen to the business’ liquor

license if an individual transports liquor to the

business?

If any owner, manager or officer in the business is convicted
of any felony under any federal or state law the lllinois liquor

license for the business is immediately subject to license
revocation proceedings.
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How can | file a report on a possible
violation?

The ILCC Enforcement Division is working in
partnership with the lllinois Department of Revenue
Criminal Investigations Division and other state,
county and federal law enforcement units to patrol
and investigate tips and complaints regarding illegal
alcohol shipments into and out of lllinois. Anyone with
information regarding this or other suspected violations
should visit our website at: ILCC.illinois.gov. Under
the Divisions heading, click on “Investigations” for the
online complaint form.

For more information

To review these and other changes to the Liquor Control
Act of 1934 (235 ILCS 5/1.1 et seq.) under PA 99-904,
visit our website at ILCC.illinois.gov.



