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This bulletin is written to inform you 
of recent changes; it does not replace 
statutes, rules and regulations, or 
court decisions.

Bulletin
Electronic Filing 
Requirements for Sales and 
Use Taxes, and Withholding 
Income Tax

To:    All retailers and servicepersons filing Form 
ST-1, Sales and Use Tax and E911 Surcharge 
Return, and certain excise and miscellaneous 
sales and use tax forms, and 

Any employer or payer responsible for 
filing Form IL-941, Illinois Withholding Income 
Tax Return, Form IL-941-X, Amended Illinois 
Withholding Income Tax Return, and issuing 
federal Form W-2, Wage and Tax Statement, to 
employees or payees.

P.A. 100-0303 provides new electronic filing requirements for Sales 
and Use Taxes, and Withholding Income Tax.

Sales and Use Tax Changes

What are the new electronic filing requirements for Sales 
and Use Tax filers?

Effective January 1, 2018, if your annual gross receipts average 
$20,000 or more, as determined by the department, you will be 
required to file the following forms and any related attachments 
electronically: 
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What if I am required to file electronically and 
do not?

Under P.A. 100-0303, if you are required to file 
electronically and do not, the discount or collection 
allowance for timely filed and paid returns will be 
disallowed. These discounts include 

1.75 percent on Form ST-1,

3 percent discount of the E911 surcharge and 
assessment fee for the Illinois 
Telecommunications Access Corporation (ITAC)
on Form ST-1, Schedule B,

$0.10 per tire collection allowance for the tire 
user fee on Form ST-8,

1.75 percent on Form ST-4,

1.75 percent on Form ST-14, and

1.75 percent on Form MC-1.

What if I am required to file electronically, but 
cannot?

P.A. 100-0303 includes a provision for a waiver of the 
electronic filing requirement if you do not have internet 
access or it is a hardship to file electronically. The 
department will develop forms and procedures that 
outline how to apply for a waiver in the near future.

Will I be notified if I have to file electronically?

Yes. The department will make the determination as to 
who qualifies for the new electronic filing requirements 
and issue a notice to any taxpayer who is required to 
file electronically. 

How do I file electronically?
Currently, you can file Forms ST-1, ST-8, ST-4, 
ST-14, and MC-1 electronically for free by registering 
and using MyTax Illinois. Visit our website at 
tax.illinois.gov to register. You can also file Forms 
ST-1, ST-8, ST-4, and ST-14 electronically using a 
direct file service through an outside vendor.
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Withholding Income Tax Changes

What are the changes for Withholding 
Income Tax?

P.A. 100-0303 gives the department the authority 
to require the electronic filing of

Form IL-941, Illinois Withholding Income Tax 
Return, 

Form IL-941-X, Amended Withholding Income 
Tax Return, and 

federal Form W-2, Wage and Tax Statement. 

How do I file electronically?

Currently, you can voluntarily file Forms IL-941 or 
IL-941-X electronically for free by registering and 
using MyTax Illinois. Visit our website at 
tax.illinois.gov to register. Form IL-941 may 
also be filed electronically through third-party 
software vendors participating in the Federal/
State Employment Tax (FSET) program.

The department already requires certain large 
employers to file their Forms W-2 by magnetic 
media or electronically if they are required to 
do so federally. For Forms W-2, employers may 
transmit through third-party services or the 
department’s Electronic W-2 Transmittal Program. 
This requirement has not changed, but may be 
expanded in the future as new rules are written.




