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SB 1939 (as enrolled) was passed by the Illinois General Assembly, and 
it is anticipated that it will be signed by the Governor and become law, 
effective July 1, 2019. This legislation amends the Motor Fuel Tax Law, 
35 ILCS 505/1, et seq., to increase the rate of tax imposed per gallon on all 
motor fuel used to operate motor vehicles on Illinois public highways and 
recreational watercraft on Illinois waterways.  

What will the Motor Fuel Tax rate be on July 1, 2019?
When the Governor signs SB 1939 on or before July 1, 2019, then beginning 
July 1, 2019, the rate of tax imposed per gallon on gasoline, gasohol, 
and compressed natural gas will be 38 cents per gallon. Also beginning 
July 1, 2019, the rate of tax imposed per gallon of diesel fuel, liquefied natural 
gas, and liquefied petroleum gas will be 45.5 cents per gallon.

Does SB 1939 make any other changes related to the Motor 
Fuel Tax rate?
Yes. SB 1939 also provides that the Motor Fuel Tax rate will be increased 
annually, beginning July 1, 2020, and on July 1 of each subsequent year by 
an amount equal to the percentage increase, if any, in the Consumer Price 
Index for All Urban Consumers for all items published by the United States 
Department of Labor for the 12 months ending in March of each year.

Does the Illinois Department of Revenue provide a method 
for taxpayers to verify the rate of Motor Fuel Tax and other 
taxes?
Yes. The Illinois Department of Revenue’s website at tax.illinois.gov is the 
best resource for up-to-date tax information. Use the Tax Rate Database 
on our website to look up rates for Motor Fuel Tax and other taxes. The 
department also posts rate change bulletins on our website and sends 
notifications of rate change bulletins as messages in MyTax Illinois, available 
at mytax.illinois.gov. Taxpayers electronically filing Form RMFT-5, Motor 
Fuel Distributor/Supplier Tax Return, Form RMFT-5-US, Underground Storage 
Tank Tax and Environmental Impact Fee Receiver Return, or Form RMFT-144, 
Alternative Fuels Return, using MyTax Illinois will have the rates populated for 
them according to their registration. 
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Update: SB 1939 was enacted 
June 28, 2019, and is now Illinois 
Public Act (P.A.) 101-0032. 
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How do I report loads that were purchased under the old Motor Fuel Tax rate but received 
under the new rate?
For the June 2019 and July 2019 liability periods, you must report motor fuel purchases using the date you received the 
load. For example, if you purchased a load on June 30, 2019, but did not receive the motor fuel until July 5, 2019, you must 
report the load on your July 2019 return, using the new tax rate.

Where can I go for help if I have questions about the Motor Fuel Tax rate change?
You may email the Alcohol, Tobacco and Fuel Division at the Illinois Department of Revenue at REV.MF@illinois.gov or 
call our Springfield office weekdays between 8:00 a.m. and 4:30 p.m. at 217 782-2291.

Informational Bulletin - Change to Illinois Motor Fuel Tax Rate 	 FY 2019-25

2

mailto:REV.MF%40illinois.gov?subject=

