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This bulletin is written to inform you 
of recent changes; it does not replace 
statutes, rules and regulations, or 
court decisions. SB 690 (as enrolled) was passed by the Illinois General Assembly, and it is 

anticipated that it will be signed by the Governor and become law effective 
July 1, 2019. This bulletin provides information for licensed Illinois Cigarette 
Tax and Cigarette Use Tax distributors, as well as Secondary Distributors, 
about this tax rate increase, the potential floor tax due on inventory, and 
required form filings.

What are the tax rates effective July 1, 2019?
Upon the Governor’s signature of SB 690, effective July 1, 2019, the Illinois 
Cigarette Tax and Cigarette Use Tax rate will increase by 50 mills per cigarette 
(from 99 mills to 149 mills per cigarette).

Per package of cigarettes the new rates are —
•	 $2.98 per package of 20 cigarettes
•	 $3.725 per package of 25 cigarettes

For machine applied stamps per roll the new rates are —
•	 $89,400 for a roll of 30,000 stamps (used on packages of 20 cigarettes) 

•	 $17,880 for a roll of 4,800 stamps (used on packages of 25 cigarettes)

Do I owe a floor tax? 
You may owe a floor tax if you have in your possession* on July 1, 2019, either 
of the following:

•	 packages of cigarettes with stamps affixed that were purchased at the rate 
of tax prior to July 1, 2019; or 

•	 stamps in your possession that were purchased at the rate of tax in effect 
prior to July 1, 2019, and have not been affixed.

What forms must I complete and file? 
You must complete Form RC-50, Cigarette Floor Stock Tax Return. This 
form is due when you first make a purchase of cigarette stamps on or after 
July 1, 2019, or the due date of your first return filing (i.e., Form RC-6 or 
Form RC-6-A) after July 1, whichever occurs first.
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*This number must include any stamps from orders submitted electronically using the 
prior tax rate on or before 11:59 P.M., June 30, 2019, regardless of whether the stamps 
are physically in your possession on July 1, 2019.

Update: SB 690 was enacted 
June 28, 2019, and is now Illinois 
Public Act (P.A.) 101-0031. 

http://www.ilga.gov/legislation/publicacts/101/101-0031.htm
http://www.ilga.gov/legislation/publicacts/101/101-0031.htm
http://www.ilga.gov/legislation/publicacts/101/101-0031.htm
http://www.ilga.gov/legislation/publicacts/101/101-0031.htm
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All licensed distributors must complete Form RC-
50, regardless of whether you report any tax due. 
Illinois Department of Revenue (IDOR) will not issue 
cigarette stamps to distributors until Form RC-50 has 
been received. The completed form should be emailed 
to the Alcohol, Tobacco, and Fuel Division (ATFD) at 
REV.ATP-MFR@illinois.gov. If tax is due, IDOR will initiate 
an ACH Debit to collect against the bank account that was 
designated for the purchase of cigarette tax stamps.

When is my floor tax payment due? Is there 
a discount?
When your Form RC-50 has been processed by ATFD, IDOR 
will initiate an ACH Debit to collect against the bank account 
that was designated for the purchase of cigarette tax stamps.  
It may take up to three business days after the return has 
been processed for the debit to show on your account. You 
are allowed a 1.75% (.0175) discount if you fully pay the tax 
due and timely file Form RC-50 (see Line 12).
Extended payment option (no discount allowed):  If you 
want the extended payment option, follow the instructions on 
Form RC-50. Your first payment will still be initiated by IDOR 
when your Form RC-50 has been processed. Payment plans 
must be paid in full within twelve months. Your minimum 
monthly payment is your tax due divided by twelve. Once 
we notify you that your payment plan is set up, you must 
make the remaining payments  by ACH Debit. You will not 
be allowed a discount if you choose the extended payment 
option.

When is the last date to order tax stamps at 
the “old” rate?
Stamps at the “old rate” are 

•	 only available for online orders through 11:59 P.M. on 
Sunday, June 30, 2019.

•	 available at walk-up locations through Friday, June 28, 
2019, during regular business hours.

When may I receive tax stamps at the “new” 
rate?
Monday, July 1, 2019, is the first day that IDOR will process 
orders for stamps at the new rate. The earliest date that you 
may place your order electronically for “new” rate stamps is 
Monday, July 1, 2019, 12:00 A.M. 

What rate may I receive for my claim for 
credit? 
Credit will be given at the old rate for claims received during 
the 90-day period immediately following the date of the 
rate increase. Credit will be given at the new rate for claims 
received after the 90-day period. We will use the envelope 
postmark and bill of lading to determine the 90 days. 

Note: If stamps are returned within the 90 days and we 
can determine by the roll number or stamp design that 
the stamps were purchased at the higher rate, we will 
credit the tax at the higher rate. If stamps are returned 
after 90 days and we can determine by the roll number 
or stamp design that the stamps were purchased at the 
lower rate, we will credit the tax at the lower rate.

Are there any form changes?
Yes. We have revised the following returns, schedules, 
and invoice (revision date in lower left corner 
(R-06/19)). You must use these forms beginning with 
your July 2019 liability period or when making stamp 
purchases on or after July 1, 2019.

•	 Form RC-44, Cigarette Use Tax

•	 Form RC-55, Unstamped Little Cigar Sticks Tax Return

•	 Form RC-55-X, Amended Unstamped Little Cigar 
Sticks Tax Return

•	 Form RC-6 Instructions, Cigarette and Little Cigar 
Revenue Return Instructions

•	 Form RC-6-W, Cigarette Revenue Return Worksheet 
(use with Form RC-6)

•	 Form RC-12 Schedule CF, Inventory of Stamps and 
Cigarettes on Hand

•	 Form RC-6-X Instruction, Amended Cigarette and 
Little Cigar Revenue Return Instructions

•	 Form RC-6-A Instructions, Out-of-State Cigarette and 
Little Cigar Revenue Return Instructions

•	 Form RC-6-A-W, Out-of-State Cigarette and Little 
Cigar Revenue Return Worksheet

•	 Form RC-6-A-X Instructions, Amended Out-of-State 
Cigarette and Little Cigar Revenue Return 

•	 Form RC-1-A, Cigarette Tax Stamp Order-Invoice

Distributors who have 30 or more transactions per 
month must file electronically. You can access these 
forms on our website at tax.illinois.gov.

What is considered a “cigarette”? 
Until July 1, 2012, and beginning July 1, 2013, 
“cigarette” means any roll for smoking made wholly 
or in part of tobacco irrespective of size or shape and 
whether or not such tobacco is flavored, adulterated 
or mixed with any other ingredient, and the wrapper or 
cover of which is made of paper or any other substance 
or material except tobacco. 

See 35 ILCS 130/1, 135/1.


