
 

 

For information or forms	
Visit our website at: 			 
tax.illinois.gov

For tax or filing questions, call us at:
217 782-6045

For registration questions, call us at:
217 785-3707

Call our TDD
(telecommunications device 		
for the deaf) at: 
1 800 544-5304

	

This bulletin is written to inform you 
of recent changes; it does not replace 
statutes, rules and regulations, or 
court decisions. SB 690 (as enrolled) was passed by the Illinois General Assembly, and it 

is anticipated that it will be signed by the Governor and become law. This 
legislation amends the Tobacco Products Tax Act, 35 ILCS 143/10-1, et seq., 
to include electronic cigarettes. Effective July 1, 2019, electronic cigarettes will 
be regulated and taxable. In addition, any in-state individual selling electronic 
cigarette products to retailers for sale at retail must be licensed as a Tobacco 
Products Distributor with the Illinois Department of Revenue (IDOR). See 86 Ill. 
Adm. Code 660 for additional information on the Tobacco Products Tax Act.

What is the definition of “electronic cigarette”? 
The Tobacco Products Tax Act defines an “electronic cigarette” as follows:
•	 any device that employs a battery or other mechanism to heat a solution 

or substance to produce a vapor or aerosol intended for inhalation;
•	 any cartridge or container of a solution or substance intended to be used 

with or in the device or to refill the device; or
•	 any solution or substance, regardless of whether it contains nicotine, 

intended for use in the device.
This definition includes, but is not limited to, any electronic nicotine delivery 
system, electronic cigar, electronic cigarillo, electronic pipe, electronic hookah, 
vape pen, or similar product or device, and any component or part that can be 
used to build the product or device.

What is the Tobacco Products Tax rate for electronic 
cigarettes? 
The Tobacco Products Tax is imposed on distributors at the rate of 15 percent 
of the wholesale price of the electronic cigarette sold or otherwise disposed of 
to retailers or consumers in Illinois. 

How will these new requirements affect retailers?
Retailers that currently have a valid Cigarette and Tobacco Products Retailer 
License with IDOR to sell “cigarettes” as defined in Section 1 of the Cigarette 
Tax Act (35 ILCS 130/1) or “tobacco products” as defined in Section 10-5 of 
the Tobacco Products Act (35 ILCS 143/10-5) and, in addition, sell electronic 
cigarettes at the same retail location do not need to obtain a separate 
Cigarette and Tobacco Products Retailer License to continue selling electronic 
cigarettes. Because electronic cigarettes are considered a tobacco product, no 
additional retailer license is required. 
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Update: SB 690 was enacted 
June 28, 2019, and is now Illinois 
Public Act (P.A.) 101-0031. 

http://www.ilga.gov/legislation/publicacts/101/101-0031.htm
http://www.ilga.gov/legislation/publicacts/101/101-0031.htm
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Retailers that do not currently have a valid Cigarette and 
Tobacco Products Retailer License with IDOR and sell 
electronic cigarettes must obtain an annual license for each 
location where these products are sold. The annual fee for 
the license is $75 per retail location and must be submitted 
electronically with your initial license application. 

How do I obtain a Cigarette and Tobacco 
Products Retailer License?
Using MyTax Illinois, available at mytax.illinois.gov, you 
must submit the license application for each location where 
you will sell electronic cigarettes at retail.

Corporations, S-Corps, Partnerships, or LLC organization 
types with active MyTax Illinois accounts can register 
for new tax types, or licenses, by simply logging into 
their MyTax Illinois account and clicking on “Register 
for New Tax Accounts” to complete the registration.

Sole Proprietorships can register electronically by selecting 
“Registration” in the upper right corner of the MyTax home 
page and then selecting “Register a New Business.” 

Retailers without active MyTax Illinois accounts will need to 
sign up for a MyTax Illinois account by selecting “Sign Up 
Now” from the home page.

Retailers that are not yet registered with IDOR for any tax 
types can register their business by selecting “Registration” 
from the MyTax Illinois home page and then selecting 
“Register a New Business.”

Contact our Central Registration Division at 217 785-3707 for 
information or assistance with registering your business.

Are there additional licensing requirements?
Retailers
Retailers purchasing electronic cigarettes from unregistered 
out-of-state distributors must register with IDOR and be 
licensed as a Tobacco Products Distributor. A person required 
to obtain a distributor’s license under the Tobacco Products 
Tax Act must submit a separate application for a license and 
must file a separate bond for each place of business where 
that person will be or is engaging in business as a distributor.

Retailers who purchase electronic cigarettes from licensed 
in-state tobacco products distributors only need the $75 
retailer’s license previously referenced. 

Distributors
Any manufacturer or wholesaler engaged in the business of 
selling tobacco products from outside of Illinois who sells, 
exchanges, distributes, ships, or transports tobacco products 
to retailers or consumers located in Illinois must also register 
to become a distributor if the manufacturer or wholesaler has 
or maintains within Illinois, directly or by subsidiary, an office, 
sales house, or other place of business, or any agent or other 
representative operating within Illinois under the authority 
of the person or subsidiary, regardless of whether the place 
of business or agent or other representative is located here 
permanently or temporarily.

How do I register to become a Tobacco 
Products Distributor?
Register with IDOR electronically using MyTax Illinois, 
available at mytax.illinois.gov.

Corporations, S-Corps, Partnerships, or LLC 
organization types with active MyTax Illinois accounts 
can register for new tax types, or licenses, by simply 
logging into their MyTax Illinois account and clicking 
on “Register for New Tax Accounts” to complete the 
registration.

Sole Proprietorships can register electronically by 
selecting “Registration” in the upper right corner of the 
MyTax home page and then selecting “Register a New 
Business.” 

If your business is not yet registered with IDOR for 
any tax types register electronically by selecting 
“Registration” from the MyTax Illinois home page.

Contact our Central Registration Division at 
217 785-3707 for information or assistance with 
registering your business.

Are there additional requirements to 
obtain a Tobacco Products Distributor 
license?
If you are not already registered as a licensed distributor 
under the Cigarette Tax Act or the Cigarette Use Tax 
Act, and you are required to become registered as a 
Tobacco Products Distributor, you must obtain a bond. 
The amount of the required bond is three times your 
average monthly tobacco products tax liability or a 
minimum of $1,000, which is the required amount for 
the first year.

Who is responsible for the tobacco 
products tax? 
The tax is imposed on the Tobacco Products Distributor. 
The distributor is responsible for filing the return and 
remitting the tax to IDOR. 

What form is used to report the tobacco 
products tax? 
Form TP-1, Tobacco Products Tax Return, is used 
to report and pay Tobacco Products Tax. Form TP-1 
must be filed and the tax must be paid electronically. 
Distributor license holders can use MyTax Illinois, 
available at mytax.illinois.gov,to file Form TP-1 and 
pay the tax. IDOR also has the ability to receive and 
process Form TP-1 via third party software.
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