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Public Act (P.A.) 101-0031 amends the Retailers’ Occupation Tax Act and the 
Use Tax Act to redefine the “selling price” subject to Sales and Use Taxes 
for sales and purchases of motor vehicles when a customer trades in a first 
division motor vehicle. See 35 ILCS 120/1; 35 ILCS 105/2.

What is the new definition of “selling price”?
P.A. 101-0031 provides that, for sales and purchases of motor vehicles, “selling 
price” includes the value of or credit given for traded-in first division motor 
vehicles exceeding $10,000. While trade-in credit for a first division motor 
vehicle can exceed $10,000 to reduce the cost of the motor vehicle being 
purchased, for purposes of calculating Sales Tax or Use Tax due, the credit 
you can claim for a first division motor vehicle being traded in cannot exceed 
$10,000. 

When does this new definition take effect?
P.A. 101-0031 provides that this new definition of selling price shall take 
effect beginning January 1, 2020. Taxpayers must calculate the Sales Tax or 
Use Tax due using this amended definition for all sales and purchases made 
on or after that date. This includes sales that are reported on Form ST-556, 
Sales Tax Transaction Return, or Form ST-556-LSE, Transaction Return for 
Leases, and also includes purchases reported on Form RUT-25, Vehicle Use 
Tax Transaction Return, or Form RUT-25-LSE, Use Tax Return for Lease 
Transactions.

Note: Trade-in credit is not allowed on many transactions reported on 
Forms ST-556-LSE and RUT-25-LSE. Before you claim a trade-in credit on 
Form ST-556-LSE or Form RUT-25-LSE, you must be certain that you are 
allowed to claim this trade-in credit. See the applicable instructions for the 
return you are filing to determine when a trade-in credit is allowed.
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What motor vehicles are subject to the 
$10,000 trade-in credit limit?
P.A. 101-0031 imposes the trade-in credit limit on first 
division motor vehicles. The Illinois Vehicle Code provides 
that motor vehicles are divided into two divisions:

First Division: Those motor vehicles which are 
designed for carrying not more than 10 persons. 
Second Division: Those motor vehicles which are 
designed for carrying more than 10 persons, those 
motor vehicles designed or used for living quarters, 
those motor vehicles which are designed for pulling or 
carrying freight, cargo or implements of husbandry, and 
those motor vehicles of the First Division remodelled for 
use and used as motor vehicles of the Second Division.

See 625 ILCS 5/1-146. First division motor vehicles 
generally consist of most standard passenger vehicles and 
include motorcycles. Pickup trucks are second division 
motor vehicles and, therefore, are not subject to the trade-in 
credit limit. If you are unsure how the vehicle that you 
intend to trade in is registered, contact the Illinois Secretary 
of State’s office.

Am I still able to combine trade-in credits 
from multiple traded-in motor vehicles?
Yes. You may still combine credit from multiple first division 
motor vehicles being traded in for a single transaction, as 
long as the trade-in credit reported for the transaction on 
Form ST-556 or ST-556-LSE does not exceed $10,000 per 
first division motor vehicle.
Note: Taxpayers filing Form RUT-25 or Form RUT-25-LSE 
also are able to combine credit from multiple first division 
motor vehicles being traded in for a single transaction, as 
long as the trade-in credit reported for the transaction does 
not exceed $10,000 per first division motor vehicle. See the 
instructions for Form RUT-25-LSE for when trade-in credit is 
allowed. 

Am I able to split credit from a traded-in 
vehicle on the purchase of multiple motor 
vehicles?
Yes. You may split credit for a single first division motor 
vehicle being traded in on multiple transactions, as long 
as the total combined trade-in credit reported for all 
transactions does not exceed $10,000.

Do the changes from P.A. 101-0031 affect 
advance trade-in credit extended on a future 
purchase?
Yes, advance trade-in credit would be impacted for any 
sale occurring on or after January 1, 2020. Regardless of 
the amount of advance trade-in credit issued to a customer 
for a first division motor vehicle prior to January 1, 2020, 
for sales or purchases of motor vehicles on or after that 
date, the total credit claimed for that trade in cannot exceed 
$10,000.

Is there a limit on the trade-in credit that can 
be taken for non-first division motor vehicles 
that are traded in?
No. P.A. 101-0031 only places a $10,000 limit on traded-in 
first division motor vehicles.
If you are licensed to sell both first and second division 
motor vehicles and accept a second division motor vehicle 
as a trade in, you can claim the full value of the traded-in 
second division motor vehicle as a credit for purposes of 
calculating the tax due, but this credit may not reduce the 
tax below zero.

Where can I go for help?
The Illinois Department of Revenue’s website at 
tax.illinois.gov is the best resource for up-to-date tax 
information. You also can call our Taxpayer Assistance 
Division at 1 800 732-8866 or 217 782-3336, or call 
our TDD (telecommunications device for the deaf) at 
1 800 544-5304.
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