
Public Act 101-001 creates the Minimum Wage Credit that may be 
used against Illinois withholding income tax payments. For tax quarters 
beginning January 1, 2020, and ending December 31, 2027, each 
employer with 50 or fewer full-time equivalent employees during the 
reporting period may claim a credit due for each qualified employee, in 
an amount equal to the maximum credit available. 

What is the maximum credit I can claim? 
The “maximum credit” means the percentage listed below of the difference 
between the amount of compensation paid in Illinois to employees who 
are paid not more than the required minimum wage reduced by the 
amount of compensation paid in Illinois to employees who were paid less 
than the current required minimum wage during the reporting period prior 
to each increase in the required minimum wage on January 1. 

If an employer pays an employee more than the required minimum wage 
and that employee previously earned less than the required minimum 
wage, the employer may include the portion that does not exceed the 
required minimum wage as compensation paid in Illinois to employees 
who are paid not more than the required minimum wage. 

If the Minimum Wage Credit exceeds the withholding amount, you may 
only claim the withholding amount as credit and you will not be able to 
carry the remaining balance forward to future periods.

The following percentages are allowed for the reporting periods as 
described below: 

•	 25 percent for reporting periods beginning on or after January 1, 2020, 
and ending on or before December 31, 2020. 

•	 21 percent for reporting periods beginning on or after January 1, 2021, 
and ending on or before December 31, 2021.

•	 17 percent for reporting periods beginning on or after January 1, 2022, 
and ending on or before December 31, 2022.

•	 13 percent for reporting periods beginning on or after January 1, 2023, 
and ending on or before December 31, 2023.
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• 9 percent for reporting periods beginning on or
after January 1, 2024, and ending on or before
December 31, 2024.

• 5 percent for reporting periods beginning on or
after January 1, 2025, and ending on or before
December 31, 2025.

• The maximum amount may continue to be
claimed for reporting periods beginning on or after
January 1, 2026, and

• ending on or before December 31, 2026, for
employers with more than 5 employees; or

• ending on or before December 31, 2027, for
employers with no more than 5 employees.

EXAMPLE 1: For March 2020, an employer has 
10 employees who were all paid $9.25 (the current 
required minimum wage). 

In December 2019, all 10 employees were paid $8.25 
($1.00 less than the current required minimum wage). 

In total, the 10 employees worked 2000 hours 
combined for the March 2020 quarter. 

The multiplier for 2020 is .25, so the credit is 
$500.00 for March 2020. 

     0.25 x (2000 x ($9.25-$8.25)) = $500.00

EXAMPLE 2: For March 2020, an employer has one 
employee who is paid $9.75 (more than the current 
required minimum wage). 

In December 2019, the employee was paid $8.25 
($1.00 less than the current required minimum wage 
so the additional $0.50 is irrelevant). In total, the 
employee worked 200 hours for the March 2020 
quarter. 

The multiplier for 2020 is .25, so the credit is 
$50.00 for March 2020.

     0.25 x (200 x ($9.25-$8.25)) = $50.00

What is a qualified employee? 
A “qualified employee” is an employee currently 
earning the required minimum wage for the current 
reporting period whose average wage paid during 
the preceding four reporting periods was equal to or 
lesser than the currently required minimum wage. 

For more information about the hourly minimum 
wage, refer to the Illinois Department of Labor’s 
website. 

How do I claim the Minimum Wage 
Credit? 
If you are eligible for the Minimum Wage Credit, 
complete and attach the new Schedule WC, 
Withholding Income Tax Credits, to your Form IL-941, 
Illinois Withholding Income Tax Return. 

To calculate the Minimum Wage Credit, see the 
Schedule WC Instructions and Schedule WC-I, 
Withholding Income Tax Credits Information 
and Worksheets, available at our website at 
tax.illinois.gov.

Are there any other changes to 
Form IL-941? 
For tax quarters beginning January 1, 2020, all 
withholding taxpayers will be required to complete 
and attach the Schedule P, Illinois Withholding Payroll 
Schedule, to Form IL-941 to verify Illinois income and 
withholding records. 
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Visit our website at tax.illinois.gov for more information and updates.

https://www2.illinois.gov/idol/Laws-Rules/FLS/Pages/minimum-wage-rates-by-year.aspx



