Department of Financial and Professional Regulations

The Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation is made up of four divisions - Banking, Financial Institutions, Professional Regulation, and Real Estate. Through these four divisions, IDFPR is responsible for regulating and licensing many industries and professions, including state chartered banks, physicians, real estate brokers and credit unions, to name a few. This regulatory function necessarily includes the availability of a hearing process to challenge the agency’s regulatory decisions. IDFPR ALJs hear various challenges to the Department’s regulatory actions.

To learn more about the Department, follow this link:

Rules and regulations related to the practice of administrative hearings before the Department can be found here: Public Notice regarding the expectations for participants in IDFPR hearings can be found at this link: