Early Learning Council Members

The Illinois Early Learning Council shall include representation from both public and private organizations, and its membership shall reflect regional, racial, and cultural diversity to ensure representation of the needs of all Illinois children. One member shall be appointed by the President of the Senate, one member appointed by the Minority Leader of the Senate, one member appointed by the Speaker of the House of Representatives, one member appointed by the Minority Leader of the House of Representatives, and other members appointed by the Governor. Members shall serve on a voluntary, unpaid basis. (Source: P.A. 95-331, eff. 8-21-07.) 

Member terms and additional appointment information can be found on the Illinois Office of Executive Appointments website. 

Phyllis Glink (Council Co-Chair)Irving Harris FoundationExecutive Committee
Martin Torres (Council Co-Chair)Illinois Governor's OfficeExecutive Committee
Kirstin ChernawskyIllinois Department of Human ServicesExecutive Committee
Chevelle BaileyIllinois Department of Children and Family ServicesExecutive Committee
Cindy BardelebenBaby TALKCouncil Member
Elissa BasslerIllinois Public Health Institute Council Member
Karen BermanStart EarlyCouncil Member
Stephanie BernoteitIllinois Board of Higher EducationExecutive Committee
John BorreroCollaboration for Early ChildhoodCouncil Member
Barbara BowmanErikson Institute Council Member
Marcus BrownIllinois Community College BoardExecutive Committee
Cerathel Burgess-BurnettChicago Department of Family and Support ServicesCouncil Member
Jose Cerda-IIIIFFCouncil Member
Christi ChadwickIllinois Board of Higher EducationExecutive Committee
Dena ChapmanIllinois Action for ChildrenExecutive Committee
Kristy DoanIllinois State Board of EducationCouncil Member
Carl EgglestonAdministration of Children and Families/Region VCouncil Member
Shauna EjehIllinois Action for ChildrenExecutive Committee
Kimberly EngelmanIllinois Education Association Council Member
Loretta EspeutFamily Focus EnglewoodCouncil Member
Gaylord GiesekeIllinois Children's Mental Health Partnership Council Member
Rochelle GollidayCuddle CareCouncil Member
Rey GonzalezEl ValorCouncil Member
Dan HarrisIllinois Network of Child Care Resource and Referral AgenciesCouncil Member
Courtney HatcherRend Lake College Child Care Resource & Referral AgencyCouncil Member
Jason HelferIllinois State Board of EducationExecutive Committee
Sergio HernandezIllinois State Board of Education Council Member
Vicki HodgesIllinois State Board of EducationCouncil Member
Gene HowellRiverbend Head Start & Family ServicesCouncil Member
Carisa HurleyIllinois State Board of EducationExecutive Committee
April JanneyIllinois Action for ChildrenCouncil Member
Jamilah Jor'danIllinois Governor's Office of Early Childhood Development Executive Committee
Ruth KimbleAustin Child Care Providers NetworkCouncil Member
Dan KotowskiKids Above AllCouncil Member
Stacee LeathermanStride Autism CentersExecutive Committee
Mitch LifsonChildren’s Advocates for ChangeCouncil Member
Camille LillyIllinois General AssemblyCouncil Member
Cathy MannenIllinois Federation of TeachersCouncil Member
Tameeka McFarlaneIllinois Education Association Council Member
Kenya McRaeIllinois Department of Public HealthExecutive Committee
Marcy MendenhallSAL Family and Community ServciesCouncil Member
Denise MonnierMontessori Public Policy InitiativeCouncil Member
Lauri Morrison-FrichtlIllinois Head Start AssociationExecutive Committee
Bela MoteCarole Robertson CenterExecutive Committee
Sean NobleCouncil for a Strong AmericaCouncil Member
Cristina Pacione-ZayasIllinois General AssemblyCouncil Member
Bethany PattenIllinois Department of Human ServicesExecutive Committee
Curtis PeaceIllinois After School NetworkExecutive Committee
Laura PhelanIllinois Department of Healthcare and Family ServicesCouncil Member
Sylvia PuenteLatino Policy ForumCouncil Member
Diana RaunerStart Early Executive Committee
Elliot RegensteinForesight Law + Policy Council Member
Steve ReickIllinois General AssemblyCouncil Member
Martina RochaTogether for Children NetworkExecutive Committee
Trish RooneyFox Valley United WayExecutive Committee
Brynn SeibertService Employees International UnionCouncil Member
Ushma ShahChicago Public SchoolsCouncil Member
Sara SlaughterW. Clement & Jessie V. Stone FoundationCouncil Member
Mariana Souto-ManningErikson InstituteExecutive Committee
Bryan Stokes-IIMcCormick FoundationExecutive Committee
Joanna SuIllinois Department of Human Services Executive Committee
Teri TalanNational Louis UniversityCouncil Member
Dawn ThomasIllinois Early Childhood Asset MapExecutive Committee
Jil TracyIllinois General AssemblyCouncil Member
Edie Washington-GurleyIllinois Department of Children and Family ServicesCouncil Member
Yolanda WilliamsCommunity Organizing and Family IssuesExecutive Committee
Josie YanguasIllinois Resource CenterCouncil Member