Salmonella Pullorum Testing Waiver
The Illinois Poultry Inspection Act, (510 ILCS 85/2.1), states that no hatching eggs or poultry, except poultry for immediate slaughter, shall be bought, sold, transported within or imported into the State unless the hatchery or flock of origin is a participant in the National Poultry Improvement Plan for the eradication of pullorum and fowl typhoid, or is following a program officially approved by the Department. The Administrative Rules (8 Ill. Adm. Code Section 55.70) state that all entries (except waterfowl, i.e., domesticated fowl that normally swim, such as ducks and geese) to a show or exhibition must have come from a U. S. pullorum-typhoid clean or equivalent hatchery or flock; or have a negative pullorum-typhoid test within 90 days prior to exhibition. It should be noted that the United States has not reported Pullorum-Typhoid in the last ten years.
Due to the shortage of antigen necessary to conduct Pullorum-Typhoid testing, the State of Illinois is waiving the pullorum requirements for birds or hatching eggs sold within or imported into the State as well as the testing requirements for exhibition. Once antigen becomes available, this waiver will be rescinded and all flocks participating in the National Poultry Improvement Plan will be required to conduct their annual test. Reciprocity with other states is not guaranteed and producers / exhibitors are responsible for contacting those state officials regarding compliance with entry requirements.
Chronic Wasting Disease (CWD) has been identified in one reindeer in a captive herd in northern Illinois. Affecting cervids (members of the deer family), CWD is a prion disease that causes brain and nerve issues and has proved to be fatal...more
Disaster Response Requirements and Guidelines
In response to requests for guidance pertaining to disaster response activities, the Department of Agriculture’s Bureau of Animal Health and Welfare has put together the following
requirements and guidelines for licensed animal shelters, veterinarians and other people wishing to assist animals impacted by these events.
Veterinary Feed Directive
On January 1, 2017, compliance with the
Veterinary Feed Directive (VFD) is required. Click on the link for more information regarding this important FDA rule.
Avian Influenza Information and Biosecurity Measures:
Equine Herpes Virus
Equine Herpes Virus (EHV-1) impacts horses and can cause respiratory disease, abortion in mares, neonatal foal death, and/or neurologic disease. The virus can spread through the air, contaminated equipment, clothing and hands. According to the University of Kentucky Equine Research Center, the virus’s ability to reside as a silent and persistent infection in horses provides for continual transmission. It is vital that good biosecurity measures be implemented on exposed premises.
Horse owners need to be mindful that most horses are exposed to one or more strains of EHV at a very young age. Periods of high stress or additional exposure may cause an animal to exhibit clinical signs of disease. Occasionally, the disease is exhibited as a serious neurologic disease. Owners should consult with their veterinarian when deciding whether or not to attend an equine event as anytime horses are commingled there is the opportunity for exposure.
The United States Department of Agriculture Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service (USDA APHIS) states, the incubation period of EHV-1 is 1-10 days; typically signs are seen within 1-3 days post exposure. Viral shedding occurs for 7-10 days, but can occur up to 28 days from the onset of signs.
The neurologic signs include ataxia, urinary bladder atony and reduced tail tone. In severe cases, horses will be unable to stand; these cases have a very poor prognosis. Foals are rarely affected with the neurologic form of EHV-1, and no sex predilection is seen. Treatment is supportive and tailored to the specific case.
Once a horse is infected, it should be quarantined. USDA recommends isolating and monitoring of all exposed horses for at least 7 days. During the isolation period, it is recommended to discontinue or reduce any strenuous training or exercise for exposed horses.
All exposed horses should have rectal temperatures taken twice daily (8-12 hours apart) and recorded in a log for at least 7 days after the date of potential exposure. Horses whose rectal temperature registers higher than 101.5 degrees Fahrenheit are considered to be febrile. All horses on the premises should also be monitored for neurologic signs (ataxia, posterior incoordination, weakness, recumbency with inability to rise, circling, head pressing, head tilt, bladder atony) during the home quarantine period. Central nervous system signs, such as posterior incoordination, weakness, recumbency with inability to rise, and bladder atony are most common in EHM affected horses.
Illinois CWD Rule
In June 2012, USDA APHIS Veterinary Services announced an interim final rule that establishes a national
CWD Herd Certification Program. In addition to the herd certification program, the rule establishes minimum requirements for interstate movement of cervidae. Program standards that accompany the interim final rule were published in May 2014.
As a result of this Federal rule, Illinois regulations pertaining to CWD and CWD program herds have been revised to make them consistent with the Federal requirements. The revisions became effective October 16, 2014. These changes are significant for all Illinois program herds and especially for those herd owners who intend to sell cervidae to other program herds, specifically herds outside of Illinois.
A link to the revised regulations is provided below.