Breadcrumb

Certification and Licensing

FAQ Index

    Questings

    ​​​​ Individuals wishing to purchase and/or apply restricted use pesticides in Illinois are required to successfully complete a competency examination and receive a license from the Illinois Department of Agriculture. The Department offers 5 license types (private, dealer, commercial, commercial not-for-hire, and public) and 17 licensure categories (aquatic, demonstration and research, field crop, forest, fruit, grain facility, livestock, mosquito, ornamental, plant management, regulatory, right-of-way, sewer line root control, seed treatment, soil fumigation, turf, and vegetable crop).

    As part of the certification and licensing program, the Department conducts various types of inspections and pesticide application records checks and investigates alleged pesticide misuse. In 2011, the Department along with the U.S. EPA and several other Midwestern states launched the DriftWatch™ program in an attempt to promote better communications between pesticide users and sensitive crop growers. The DriftWatch program is an internet-based geographic information system which allows growers to register the locations of their sensitive crop production areas and allows pesticide users to access those locations.

    Illinois Pesticide Act Licensing Requirements 

    A pesticide license is required of everyone applying Restricted Use pesticides. Also, anyone applying Restricted or general Use pesticides in the course of employment must have a license. A person applying a General Use pesticide on his or her own property is exempt. A Restricted Use pesticide will have "Restricted Use" displayed prominently on its label. A license is required to purchase Restricted Use pesticides, but not General Use pesticides.

    The Illinois Department of Agriculture certifies and licenses those applying pesticides in outdoor environments and in the production of agricultural commodities. The University of Illinois Extension, through a cooperative agreement with the department, provides training and study materials.

    The Illinois Department of Public Health certifies and licenses individuals applying pesticides in and on man-made structures. This includes nuisance bird control, rodent control, wood treatment, and insect control. They can be contacted at (217) 782-4674 or via Illinois Department of Public Health . 

    Applicators 

    An applicator is the person(s) in an organization who has the responsibility for all pesticide purchasing, storage, handling, and use. Each organization must have at least one person licensed as an applicator at each facility location. The applicator's license categories dictate the areas in which a company may legally apply pesticides. An applicator is usually an owner, a supervisor, or a foreman. An applicator may use pesticides or supervise the use of pesticides by that person's licensed operators.

    Applicator Licensing Requirements

    1. Pass the 100-question General Standards exam or Aerial General Standards exam with a score of 70 or more.

    2. Pass one or more 50-question Category exam with a score of 35 or more correct. Category selection depends on the sites where the company uses pesticides.

    3. Watch the mail for your license application.

    4. Fill out and return the completed license application form and appropriate fee to the Illinois Department of Agriculture within 90 days. (If 90 days elapse, the completed exams are no longer valid and you must retest).

    Commercial applicators must pay a $60 annual license fee and provide a certificate of insurance with proper coverage. The insurance requirements will be sent with your application. Commercial not-for-hire and public applicators must pay a $20 annual license fee and no certification of insurance is required.

    Operators 

    An operator is a person who uses pesticides at the job site. The operator is tied directly to the applicator's license. The operator cannot be licensed without an applicator being properly licensed. The operator can apply pesticides only under the direct supervision of the applicator and can apply pesticides only to areas covered by the applicator's license.

    Supervision and direction of operators by an applicator is interpreted to mean that the applicator must be in daily contact with the operators. If the applicator is out of town or not available, the operator may not legally apply pesticides. An operator may not legally work for another applicator.

    Operator Licensing Requirements

    1. Be employed and supervised by a currently licensed applicator.

    2. Pass the 100-question General Standards exam or Aerial General Standards exam with a score of 70 or more.

    3. Watch the mail for your license application.

    4. Fill out and return the license application form and appropriate fee to the Illinois Department of Agriculture within 90 days. (If 90 days elapse, the completed exams are no longer valid and you must retest).

    Commercial operators must pay a $40 annual license fee. Commercial not-for-hire and public operators must pay a $15 annual license fee.

    Types of Licenses 

    Exams for the following are valid for a period of three years if no lapse occurs in licensure:

    • Private Applicator License - required for people applying Restricted Use pesticides to produce an agricultural commodity on property they own or control. Private Applicators must take the Grain Fumigation category examination in order to fumigate their own grain bins. For additional information: http://www.pesticidesafety.illinois.edu/ or 877-626-1650 ($30 fee for 3-year license).

    • Pesticide Dealer License - an individual selling Restricted Use pesticides must be licensed. Also, an individual selling non-restricted use (general use) pesticides for the production of an agricultural commodity in containers with capacities equal to or greater than 2-1/2 gallons or 10 pounds must be licensed. A test, license, and fee are required. Also, mandatory records must be kept for two years. Commercial Applicators and Structural Pest Control Licensees are exempt from the test and fee, but must register with the Department of Agriculture as a Dealer ($100 fee for 1-year license).

    • Commercial Applicator or Operator License - required for individuals who purchase, use or supervise the use of pesticides classified for General or Restricted Use for hire. (Applicator - $60; Operator - $40; both 1-year licenses).

    • Public Applicator or Operator License - required for individuals who use or supervise the use of pesticides classified for General or Restricted Use, as an employee of a state agency, municipality, or other duty constituted governmental agency or unit (Applicator - $20; Operator - $15; both 1-year licenses).

    • Commercial Not-for-Hire Applicator or Operator License - required for individuals who use or supervise the use of pesticides classified for General or Restricted Use for any purpose on property of an employer when such activity is a requirement of the terms of employment and the application is limited to property under the control of the employer only (Applicator - $20; Operator - $15; both 1-year licenses).

    Categories of Licensure 

    Each category is designed for pesticide use requiring specific professional knowledge. A company's entire range of pesticide use must be covered by the categories on the applicator's license. Many applicators need multiple categories on their licenses. The following is a list of categories of licensure offered in Illinois:

    Aquatic Pest Control
    Pesticide use in standing or running water;
    Demonstration and Research
    Pesticide use during research or the teaching of pesticide and equipment use;
    Field Crop Pest Control
    Pesticide use in corn, soybeans, small grains, forages, grasslands, etc.;
    Forest Pest Control
    Pesticide use in forests, forest nurseries, and forest seed-producing areas;
    Fruit Crop Pest Control
     Pesticide use in fruit and nut crops;
    Grain Facility Pest Control
    Pesticide use in and around grain elevators or similar grain holding facilities, conveyances, and transportation facilities;
    Livestock Pest Control
    Pesticides applied to livestock or livestock barns;
    Mosquito Control
    Insecticides applied to control mosquitoes;
    Ornamental Pest Control
    Pesticide use on trees, shrubs, and ornamental plantings;
    Plant Management Pest Control
    Pesticide use on portable plants used for interior landscaping and environmental enhancement;
    Regulatory Pest Control
    For government employees involved in the control of regulated pests with pesticides;
    Right-of-Way Pest Control
    Chemical weed control on non-crop​ sites such as parking lots, along roads, in access rights-of-way, and in fence lines;
    Sewer Line Root Control
    Chemical control of roots in sewer lines;
    Seed Treatment
    Pesticide use on seeds;
    Soil Fumigation
    Pesticide use for soil fumigation;
    Turf Pest Control
    Pesticide use on turf areas and sod farms; and
    Vegetable Crop Pest Control
    P​esticide use in vegetable crops.

    Reciprocity

    Individuals may qualify for pesticide licensure in the state of Illinois through reciprocity, if they are currently licensed to conduct the same type of pesticide application in another state, provided that the licensure is from their current state of residency and licensure was based on the successful completion of a closed book examination within the previous three years. Individuals wishing to qualify for an Illinois license using this method can qualify for a ONE CALENDAR YEAR Illinois license.

    Application for a reciprocal license is a two-step process:

    • First, complete the top portion of the Reciprocity Request and Verification Form (available below) and submit it to your home state regulatory agency.  They will complete the lower portion of the form detailing your licensure and test history in your state of residency and will then forward the completed form to the Illinois Department of Agriculture.​
    • Second, complete and submit the Reciprocal Pest Control License Application form (see below), along with the applicable licensing fee, to the Illinois Department of Agriculture at the address indicated.

    Questions regarding reciprocal licensure should be directed to the Illinois Department of Agriculture, Bureau of Environmental Programs, Certification/Licensing/Registration Section at (217) 785-2427 or AGR.PESTICIDE@Illinois.gov

    Financial Responsibility Demonstration

    A licensed commercial applicator must provide to the Director of the Illinois Department of Agriculture at the time of original licensing and license renewal evidence of financial responsibility protecting persons who may suffer personal injury or property damage or both as a result of the pesticide operation of the applicant in the form of a surety bond or a certificate of liability insurance. Specific requirements can be found at 415 ILCS 60/10, paragraph 3. Surety Bonds or Certificates of Insurance must be provided at the time of licensing and/or upon expiration of the current instrument. Please be advised that it is the licensee's and/or the company's responsibility to provide this surety bond or certificate of insurance to the Department prior to the expiration of the instrument.

    A certificate of insurance submitted to meet the financial responsibility demonstration requirement must contain the following:

    1. A 30-day cancellation notification in the event the insurance company should cancel the policy;

    2. Coverage of not less than $50,000 per person, $100,000 per occurrence bodily injury liability coverage, with an annual aggregate of not less than $500,000, and $50,000 per occurrence property damage liability, with an annual aggregate of not less than $50,000; or in lieu thereof, a combined single limit of not less than $100,000 bodily injury and property damage liability combined, with an annual aggregate of not less than $500,000; and

    3. Each company location that is to be covered by the policy must be listed on the policy.

    If you have any questions, please feel free to contact the Department's licensing section at 217/785-2427. You can also fax us at 217/524-4882, or e-mail us at AGR.pesticide@illinois.gov.

    Duplicate Licenses, Secondary Licenses, and Change of Information

    Licensees that have misplaced or destroyed their current license card may request the Department issue a duplicate license using the form below. In addition, licensees wishing to be licensed under a second company may submit a request to the Department using the Secondary license request form. Licensees may also submit changes of information to the Department with regard to their licensure using the appropriate form below.

    Important Addresses and Phone Numbers

    Preregistration and Study Material Information:

    University of Illinois Extension
    Pesticide Safety Education Program
    1201 S. Dorner Dr.
    Urbana, IL 61801
    (800) 644-2123 or (217) 244-2123
    Fax (217) 244-3469
    https://webs.extension.uiuc.edu/psep/training/

    Licensing Information:

    Illinois Department of Agriculture
    Bureau of Environmental Programs
    P.O. Box 19281
    Springfield, IL 62794-9281
    (217) 785-2427

    Illinois Department of Agriculture
    Bureau of Environmental Programs
    2280 Bethany Road., Suite B
    DeKalb, IL 60115-5305
    (815) 787-5476

    Structural Pest Control Information:

    Illinois Department of Public Health
    Division of Environmental Health
    525 W. Jefferson, 3rd Floor
    Springfield, IL 62761
    (217) 782-4674
    http://www.idph.state.il.us/envhealth/structuralpest.htm