Pesticide Clean Sweep Program

The Illinois Department of Agriculture, in cooperation with the Illinois Department of Public Health and with funding from the US EPA, annually conducts agricultural/structural pesticide clean sweep program collections for the residents of various counties in the state, depending on the availability of funds. Local sponsors usually included county Farm Bureau offices, University of Illinois Extension offices and Soil and Water Conservation District offices. All chemicals collected during this program are registered with the Department prior to the actual collection date. By pre-registering the products, the Department is able to determine which products were eligible for collection. The majority of products turned away from past collections were not pesticides. 

​​These items included crop oil, surfactants, stickers, foaming agents, etc. Waste pesticides are usually collected from 8:30 a.m. until 2:00 p.m. The costs for the collections are paid for through a grant from the US EPA. Since the inception of the program in 1990, the Department has held more than 48 collection events throughout the state and has collected more than 534,038 lbs of material from approximately 1,940 participants.

2019 Clean Sweep

A "Clean Sweep" collection has been scheduled in late summer for Alexander, Franklin, Jackson, Jefferson, Johnson, Massac, Perry, Pulaski, Randolph, Union, Washington, and Williamson counties, the Department announced today.  The collection, which rotates among Illinois counties, is open to farmers, retired farmers, nursery owners, private pesticide applicators, structural pest control applicators and landowners who inherited unwanted agricultural pesticides with their property. 

Participants must register the products they plan to dispose of by July 24. Registration is required to give the waste disposal contractor time to prepare for the different kinds of materials that will need to be handled. Forms can be obtained either by calling the Illinois Department of Agriculture's Pesticide Hotline at 1-800-641-3934 or by visiting one of the program sponsors listed below. Completed forms should be mailed or faxed to the Illinois Department of Agriculture. Completed forms should be mailed or faxed to the Illinois Department of Agriculture.  The mailing address is: 

Clean Sweep Program,
Illinois Department of Agriculture
Bureau of Environmental Programs
State Fairgrounds,  P.O. Box 19281
Springfield, IL, 62794-9281

The fax number is (217) 524-4882.  Participants then will be sent a reservation card indicating the date, time and location of their collection. 

2019 Clean Sweep Sponsors:

  • Jefferson Co. SWCD

    221 Withers Dr.
    Mt. Vernon, Il 62864

  • Jackson Co. SWCD

    1213 N. 14th St.
    Murphysboro, Il 62966

  • Johnson Co. SWCD

    807 N. 1st St.
    Vienna, Il 62995

  • Pulaski-Alexander Co. SWCD

    505 Front St.
    Tamms, Il 62988

  • Franklin Co. SWCD

    711 N. Duquoin St.
    Benton, Il 62812

  • Massac Co. SWCD

    1438 W. 10th St.
    Metropolis, Il 62960

  • Perry Co. SWCD

    617 N. Main St.
    Pinckneyville, Il 62274

  • Randolph Co. SWCD

    313 W. Belmont St.
    Sparta, Il 62286

  • Union Co. SWCD

    201 Springfield Ave.
    Anna, Il 62906

  • Washington Co. SWCD

    424 E. Holzhauer Dr.
    Nashville, Il 62263

  • Williamson Co. SWCD

    502 Comfort Dr. Suite C
    Marion, Il 62959

  • Pulaski-Alexander Co. Farm Bureau

    404 S Blanche St
    Mounds, Il 62964

  • Franklin Co. Farm Bureau

    1210 Highway 14 West
    Benton, Il 62812

  • Jackson Co. Farm Bureau

    220 N 10th St
    Murphysboro, Il 62966

  • Jefferson Co. Farm Bureau

    814 Harrison St
    Mount Vernon, Il 62864

  • Johnson Co. Farm Bureau

    809 N 1st St
    Vienna, Il 62995

  • Massac Co. Farm Bureau

    1436 W 10th St
    Metropolis, Il 62960

  • Perry Co. Farm Bureau

    309 S 1st St
    Pinckneyville, Il 62274

  • Randolph Co. Farm Bureau

    1403 Hillcrest Dr
    Sparta, Il 62286

  • Union Co. Farm Bureau

    104 W Broad St
    Jonesboro, Il 62952

  • Washington Co. Farm Bureau

    246 W Saint Louis St
    Nashville, Il 62263

  • Williamson Co. Farm Bureau

    1517 E Deyoung St
    Marion, Il 62959

  • Pulaski-Alexander

    University Of IL Ext. 502
    Oakley Lane Mounds, Il 62694

  • Johnson University Of Il Ext.

    208 E. Main
    Vienna, Il 62995

  • Massac University Of Il Ext.

    1438 W. 10th Street
    Metropolis, Il 62960

  • Union University Of Il Ext.

    515 E Vienna St., Suite G
    Anna, Il 62906

  • Franklin University Of Il Ext. 1212

    Route 14 West
    Benton, Il 62812

  • Jackson University Of Il Ext.

    402 Ava Rd.
    Murphysboro, Il 62966

  • Perry University Of Il Ext.

    3764 State Rte 13/127 Rm 110
    Pinckneyville, Il 62274

  • Randolph University Of Il Ext.

    313 West Belmont Street
    Sparta, Il 62286

  • Williamson University Of Il Ext.

    101-B East Deyoung
    Marion, Il 62959

  • Jefferson University Of Il Ext.

    4618 Broadway
    Mt. Vernon, Il 62864

  • Washington University Of Il Ext.

    9623 Wall Street
    Nashville, Il 62263

  • Jackson County Health Dept.

    Rear of Bldg. 415 Health Dept. Rd.
    Murphysboro IL 62966