Applications and Licenses
To Obtain or Renew a Pyrotechnic license click here. (Login/Registration is needed)
Approved and Prohibited Fireworks
Sky Lantern Notice
Notice to Registrant Consumer Distributor Retailer
Fireworks - Notice to Municipalities
Fireworks - Notice to Law Enforcement Agencies
Pyrotechnic Distributors and Operator Licensing
No Pyrotechnic Distributor or Pyrotechnic Operator applications received from an applicant for the first time during the period of June 15, 2022 through July 4, 2022 will be processed prior to July 4, 2022. No temporary authorizations to act as a pyrotechnic Distributor or pyrotechnic Operator will be issued during the period of June 15 – July 4, 2022. Applications received prior to June 15, 2022 and renewal applications will be processed during this period in the normal course of business and in the order in which they are received. NO EXCEPTIONS
Consumer Fireworks Distributors
If you are applying to register as a Consumer Distributor for the 2022 Fireworks season, please note you must apply prior to June 15, 2022. No applications will be processed after that date. NO EXCEPTIONS
Fireworks Hospital Data Sheet
The Office of the State Fire Marshal (OSFM) continues to be concerned about injuries caused each year by consumer fireworks. In the past, Illinois hospitals have provided valuable information concerning fireworks injuries that have occurred during the July holiday season.
OSFM is interested in determining the use patterns and subsequent injuries that may result from fireworks. We are asking for your cooperation in helping to identify fireworks injuries that occur during the upcoming holiday period. Below is a link to the Fireworks Hospital Data Sheet which is now available for electronic submission. We ask that you report each fireworks injury presented to your emergency room between June 1st and August 30th. Please have these submitted by September 15th so that your hospital may be included in our statistical report.
Thank you for your concern and continued cooperation with our efforts to make the July holiday season as safe as possible.
Hospital Fireworks Survey Form
Summaries of Fireworks Injuries in Illinois
Fireworks Display Information
Upcoming Pyrotechnic Training & Meetings
Pyrotechnic Examination Information
- Pyrotechnic Flame Effects References
- Proximate Audience References
Please contact the Division of Fire Prevention at SFM.FirePrevention@illinois.gov with the requested level of examination and the following personal information:
- Driver's License Number (Last 8 digits Only)
- Telephone Number
- E-Mail Address
- Name of Exam
There will be a fee of $25.00 to take the exam.
Once your exam request has been approved by Division of Fire Prevention, Pearson Vue will email the Candidate with instructions for registration and scheduling their exam.
The Candidate will be able to personally schedule and pay the $25.00 fee for their test on the Pearson Vue site:
All exam retakes at a Pearson VUE test center will be $25.00, payable by the candidate.
- Candidate will select a date and time for exam.
- Candidate will pay the $25.00 fee for the exam.
- Web scheduling is available 24/7.
- Pearson Vue will email confirmations to candidates when they schedule, cancel, or reschedule an exam.
- Pearson Vue website address is https://home.pearsonvue.com
Two (2) forms of identification are required at the testing center. One government issued, photo- and signature-bearing ID (passport, driver's license, etc.) and one alternate ID (for example, a credit card).
The Candidate will receive immediate exam results of pass/fail.
Candidates are provided with one exam authorization. Individuals must be reauthorized by the Pyrotechnic Licensing Division for each exam retake, if they fail the exam.
Candidates may cancel or reschedule their exam no later than 48 hours before their reservation date and time or else they will forfeit their exam fee.
Pyrotechnic Exam Content (what to study)
The examination content is established by Illinois Administrative Rules:
Part 230.120 Written Examination for Proximate Audience License and/or Flame Effect License
a) An applicant for a proximate audience or flame effect license must have completed a written examination administered by OSFM and achieved a passing score of at least 80%.
b) The written examination is designed to demonstrate the applicant's knowledge of the Act*, this Part**, and NFPA 1126 and/or NFPA 160 standards relating to safe practices for the storage, use, handling, discharge and display of fireworks and flame effects
c) The examinations are administered by OSFM at times scheduled during each calendar year. Contact OSFM to obtain the examination schedule. There is a $25 fee for taking the examination.
d) Persons failing to achieve a passing score of at least 80% are eligible to retake the examination after 30 days.
* "The Act" refers to the Pyrotechnic Distributor and Operator Licensing Act (225 ILCS 217):
** This Part" refers to Title 41, Ch. I, Part 230 - Pyrotechnic Distributor and Operator Licensing Rules: https://www.ilga.gov/commission/jcar/admincode/041/04100230sections.html
Referenced Standards NFPA Standards include:
NFPA 160, Standard for the Use of Flame Effects Before an Audience (2006)
NFPA 1126, Standard for the Use of Pyrotechnics Before a Proximate Audience (2006)
Registered Pyrotechnic Entities
List of Authorized Pyrotechnic Distributors and Operators
List of Registered Consumer Retailers
Registered Consumer Fireworks Distributors/Retailers - Map
List of Registered Pyrotechnic Assistants
List of Disciplinary Actions
2020 Mandatory Reporting for Pyrotechnic Licensing
Pyrotechnic / Fireworks Complaint Form
To be used by any citizen that witnesses a potential violation of either the Pyrotechnic Distributor and Operator Licensing Act OR the Fireworks Use Act
Flame Effects Used in Education, Research, and Product Development
Heat Resistant Truss Support Requirements
Hybrid Pyro Effects Non-Listed Devices in Outdoor Professional Displays
Licensing Mechanical Pyrotechnic Fountains
A display permit must be obtained from local authorities for all firework displays, except no permit shall be required for supervised public displays by State or County fair associations.