Breadcrumb

Serving Those Who Served

 

Serving Those Who Served

Serving Those Who Served is a week of service created to thank service men and women, our veterans, and their families. This November, people all over the state of Illinois will spend the 11/07 – 11/14 engaged in volunteer service projects focused on benefiting our heroes!

You, your family, your friends, your church, civic club, scout troop – you name it! – could be an immense help to a group of men and women who would never ask for help! Whether it's painting, landscaping, assisting with an event, writing thank you letters to the troops, or visiting our heroes in our Veterans' Homes – WE WANT YOUR HELP!

DISCLAIMER: Volunteering to be part of this statewide program may result in a smiling face, a warm heart, an intense sense of pride knowing that you took part in serving those who served our great nation!

Here are opportunities to Volunteer

Pick the one you would like to assist and contact the Organizer that is listed with the project.
Thank you for Serving Those Who Served

  • Land of Lincoln AmeriCorps – Rend Lake College
    Veggies for Vets
    11/11/2020 - 9:00 am – 3:30 pm
    Marion Kroger
    1704 W Deyoung Street, Marion IL 62959
    Volunteers Needed: 5
    Contact Megan Rounds at: roundsm@rlc.eduor 618-437-5321 ext. 1351
    Special Requirements: Mask
  • UIC Project MORE
    Veterans Day Donation Drive / Care Package Drop Off
    11/13/2020 – 9:00 am – 3:00 pm
    UIC Project MORE
    1640 W Roosevelt Road, Chicago, IL 60653
    Contact Jeneen Thomas at jnthomas@uic.edu
  • Housing Forward
    Holiday Stockings for Hero's
    11/11/2020 thru 11/13/2020
    Housing Forward
    1851 S. Ninth Avenue, Maywood, IL 60153
    To sign up please go to: https://soldiersangels.org/holiday-stockings-for-heroes/getting-started-holiday-stockings-for-heroes
  • Teach for America
    Veteran's Day of Service Awareness Lesson
    11/09/20 – 11/13/20 - 8:00 am – 3:00 pm
    Teach For America
    Contact Steven Grosso at steven.grosso@teachforamerica.org for specific information
  • ABC AmeriCorps of SVCC
    Blankets for Vets
    10/16/20 – 11/11/2020
    Citadel Nursing Home, 105 E 23rd St, Sterling, IL 61081
    Contact Nicole Schafer at Nicole.b.schafer@svcc.edu
  • Lessie Bates AmeriCorps East St. Louis
    Honoring Our Soldiers
    11/10/2020 – 11:00 am – 12:00 pm
    Eagles Nest, 5020 State Street, East St. Louis, IL 62205
    Volunteers Needed: 20
    Contact Kwanzaa Wright at kwright@lbdnh.org
  • Illinois Bar Foundation – Illinois JusticeCorps
    Operation Gratitude
    11/07/20 – 11/14/20
    Operation Gratitude Letter Writing Program
    Volunteers Needed: 13
    Contact Jenna Kearns at jkearns@iljusticecorps.org
    Requirements: Follow the letter writing guidelines from Operation Gratitude
  • New Star
    Keeping Connected
    11/10/20 – 11/13/20 – 8:00 am – 5:00 9m
    New Star, 1005 West End Ave, Chicago Heights, IL 60411
    Contact Kelly Berardelli at kberardelli@newstarservices.org
  • Springfield Urban League
    SUL Honoring Veterans
    11/9/2020 – 11/10/2020 – 9:00am – 5:00 pm
    Springfield UL Americorps, 100 North 11th Street, Springfield, IL 62704
    Volunteers Needed: 10
    Contact Darryl Triggs at dtriggs@springfieldul.org
  • Schuler Scholar Program
    Veteran's Day Letter Service
    11/11/2020 – 10:00 am
    Schuler Scholar Program, 100 N Field Drive, Lake Forest, IL 60045
    Volunteers Needed: 10
    Contact Noemi Larrondo at noemil@schulerprogram.org
  • Herrin House of Hope
    Veteran's Day Recognition Project
    11/11/2020 – 11:00 am – 1:00 pm
    Herrin House of Hope, 112 N 14th St, Herrin, IL 62948
    Volunteers Needed: 6
    Contact John Steve at steve87success@yahoo.com
    *Come to the location between 9:00am and 10:00am on the 11th
  • Girl Scouts of Northern IL – Project Opportunity
    Virtual Veteran Service and Honoring – Operation Gratitude
    11/9/2020 – 11/13/2020 - 2:00pm – 4:30pm
    Operation Gratitude
    Volunteers Needed: 99
    https://www.operationgratitude.com/express-your-thanks-virtual-groups/write-letters-virtual
    Contact Joselyn Taylor at jtaylor@girlscoutsni.org
  • AmeriCorps Project YES
    Veteran's Packs
    11/11/2020 - 10:00am – 12:00pm
    AmeriCorps Project YES!, 1400 W Augusta Blvd, Chicago, IL 60642
    Volunteers Needed: 10
    Contact Victoria Allen at vallen@nush.org
  • Beyond Sports Foundation
    Virtual Trivia Night with Veterans to Support VA Pantry
    11/14/2020 – 3:00pm – 4:15pm
    Volunteers Needed: 30
    Contact Deborah Rintels Weiner at deborah@beyondsports.org
    *Internet Access Required; Donate 10 cans of food to play
  • City of Springfield AmeriCorps Program – Salvation Army
    11/10/2020 – 10:00am – 12:30pm
    Volunteers Needed: 5
    The Salvation Army, 1600 E Clear Lake Drive, Springfield, IL 62703
    Contact Lisa Peterson at lisa.peterson@springfield.il.us
    Restrictions: Must be able to pack and lift boxes of supplies
  • Literacy Volunteers of Illinois
    Operation Gratitude – Virtual Volunteerism and NMAI Event Awareness
    11/7/2020 – 11/14/2020
    Link: https://www.operationgratitude.com/express-your-thanks-virtual-groups/
    Contact Gabriel Perez at gperez@lvillinois.org
  • Peace Corps Fellows/AC Program
    Veteran's Care Packages & Recognition
    11/12/2020 – 8:00am – 1:00pm
    Volunteers Needed: 5
    Contact cd-schierman@wiu.edufor volunteer information
    *Must wear a mask and follow COVID precautions set by the organization
  • Greater Chicago Food Depository
    Repack at the Greater Auburn-Gresham Development Corporation
    11/10/2020 – 7:30am – 1:00pm
    Volunteers Needed: 9
    Greater Auburn-Gresham Development Corporation SAVE-A-LOT
    7908 S. Halstead St, Chicago, IL 60620
    Contact Katie Nathenson at knathenson@gcfd.org
    Restrictions: Good attitude and closed toe shoes
  • IPHA AmeriCorps
    Can Drive / Letter to Veterans
    11/7/2020 – 11/14/2020
    Volunteers Needed: 13
    https://amillionthanks.org/letter/
    Contact Amy Meurs at ameurs@ipha.com
  • College Possible Chicago
    Operation Gratitude Letter Campaign
    11/11/2020 – 12:00pm – 3:00pm
    College Possible Chicago, 215 W Superior, Suite 315, Chicago, IL 60654
    Volunteers Needed: 30
    Contact Ciana Ashton at cashton@collegepossible.org
  • Substance Use Disorder Allies (PHIMC)
    Operation Gratitude
    11/13/2020 – 3:45pm – 4:45pm
    Virtual Event
    Contact Clare Healy at c.healy@phimc.org
    Restrictions: Must have access to a laptop or smartphone
  • Leave No Veteran Behind
    Veteran's Day Community Garden Service Project
    11/7/2020 – 1:00pm – 3:00pm
    Volunteers Needed: 10
    Hope Manor II, 6002 S Halsted St, Chicago, IL 60621
    Contact Leslie Rodriguez lrodriguez@leavenoveteranbehind.org
  • Gardeneers
    Veteran's Day Event
    11/11/2020 – 10:00am – 11:30am
    Volunteers Needed: 4
    Gardeneers, 3414 W Roosevelt Rd, Floor 2, Chicago, IL 60624
    Contact Leah Goldbloom at leah@gardeneers.org
  • Metropolitan Mayors Caucus Greenest Region Corps
    Veteran's Day Letter Writing
    11/6/2020 – 2:00pm – 5:00pm
    Virtual Event
    Contact Katie Friedman at kfriedman@mayorscaucus.org
  • AmeriCorps Y.O.U.th Serve
    Operation Gratitude
    Virtual Event:  https://www.operationgratitude.com/express-your-thanks-virtual-groups/paracord-bracelets-virtual-groups/
    11/12/2020 – 5:30pm – 7:30pm
    Contact Aina Cambridge at acambridge@youthopportunity.org
  • Academy for Urban School Leadership
    Letter Writing - Individuals
    Volunteers Needed: 10 11/11/2020 – 12:00pm - 5:00pm
    Register online at volunteer@operationgratitude.com