Illinois Board, Commission, Task Force and Council List

Boards and Commissions Detail | Skip to Member Names | View all Boards and Commissions

Title:Entrepreneurship Education, Illinois Institute for
Function:The Institute fosters growth and development of entreprenuership education and economic development; exists under Illinois State University.
Term:3 years.
Senate Confirmation:No
Qualifications:Members to have expertise and experience in area of entrepreneurship education, including small business and entrepreneurship. Majority of voting members must be from private sector.
Composition:15 members that represent education, commerce and industry, government, or labor appointed as follows: - 2 appointed by Governor, 1 of whom to be a minority or female - 1 appointed by Senate President - 1 appointed by Senate Minority Leader - 1 appointed by House Speaker - 1 appointed by House Minority Leader - 2 appointed by Illinois State University - 1 appointed by Board of Higher Education - 1 appointed by State Board of Education - 1 appointed by Department of Commerce & Economic Opportunity - 1 appointed by Illinois Chapter of Economics America - 3 appointed by majority vote of other 12 members to represent business owner-entrepreneurs
Chair:Elected by the Board
Authority:110 ILCS 675/20-115

 Member Names

Name (Last, First)Term ExpiresMember SinceAffiliationAppointed ByPositionTitleCounty
Barreda, Phillip A.Department of Commerce & Economic OpportunityChairNone
Brooks, Carol8/9/2012State Board of EducationMemberNone
Buckhanan, TamerraMajority vote of other 12 membersMemberNone
Conley, Diana8/21/20068/21/2003Senate Minority LeaderMemberDuPage
Dempsey, JoanneIllinois Chapter of Economics AmericaMemberNone
Johnson, CynthiaMajority vote of other 12 membersMemberNone
Kuc, Carol12/31/20081/1/2006GovernorMemberDuPage
Lust, JohnIllinois State UniversityMemberMcLean
Mills, DixieIllinois State UniversityMemberMcLean
Moltz, Barry12/31/200812/31/2005GovernorMemberCook
Nekritz, Elaine5/5/20055/6/2002Speaker of the HouseMemberCook
Ponder, Anita9/26/20149/26/2011DemocratSenate PresidentMemberCook
Reis, David10/6/201410/6/2011House Minority LeaderMemberRichland
Sutton, GregMajority vote of other 12 membersMemberNone
Welsch, HaroldBoard of Higher EducationMemberDoctorCook