Illinois Board, Commission, Task Force and Council List

Boards and Commissions Detail | Skip to Member Names | View all Boards and Commissions

Title:Chicago Transit Authority Board
Website:Chicago Transit Authority Board
Contact Name:Greg Longhini
Contact Title:CTA Board Secretary
Contact Phone:(312) 681-5022
Function:The Board is the governing, administrative, and policy making body of CTA.
Term:7 years, beginning September 1 of varied years.
Senate Confirmation:Yes
Qualifications:Residents of metropolitan area not employed by or officers of federal, state, county, or municipal government. Must have recognized business ability but no financial interest in authority business. Per Metropolitan Transit Authority Act 3605/20, “at least one must be a resident of that portion of the metropolitan area which is outside the corporate limits of the City of Chicago.” Cannot be a public employee.
Compensation:$25,000 per year (or as set by Board)
Composition:7 members: 3 appointed by the Governor; 4 appointed by Mayor, City of Chicago; Secretary & Treasurer appointed by Board.
Chair:Elected by board
Authority:70 ILCS 3605/20

 Member Names

Name (Last, First)Term ExpiresMember SinceAffiliationAppointed ByPositionTitleCounty
Barclay, Lester9/1/20276/3/2021Mayor of ChicagoMemberChicago
Jakes, Rev. Bernard8/31/20258/16/2019GovernorMemberCook
Jha, Neema8/31/20237/15/2022GovernorMemberChicagoCook
Lee, Michele9/1/20285/11/2022Mayor of ChicagoMemberChicagoCook
Miller, Johnny9/1/20214/13/2016Mayor of ChicagoMemberChicagoCook
Ortiz, Rosa8/31/202812/3/2021GovernorMemberChicagoCook
Silva, Alejandro9/1/20223/10/2014Mayor of ChicagoMemberChicagoCook