Illinois Board, Commission, Task Force and Council List

Boards and Commissions Detail | Skip to Member Names | View all Boards and Commissions

Title:Blind Services Planning Council
Contact Name:Andrew Webb
Contact Comments:Phone no. 773-656-9245 Email: These are personal phone number and email addresses.
Function:Reviews actions of the DHS Bureau for the Blind; facilitates communication and cooperation between department and all agencies responsible for services to blind and visually impaired persons; identifies needs and problems of such persons; makes recommendations to Bureau director, Department director and the Governor.
Term:3 years.  Maximum of 2 terms.
Senate Confirmation:No
Qualifications:At least 6 members must be blind and a balance maintained between males and females. No department employee shall be a member of the Council.
Composition:11 members appointed by the Governor: The Council shall elect a chairperson and a recording secretary from its members. Members may be drawn from specific organizations including: -Hadley School for the Blind -Chicago Lighthouse -Department-approved Low Vision Aides Clinics -Vending facilities operators -Association for Education and Rehabilitation of the Blind and -Visually Impaired -Blind homemakers -Outstanding competitive employers of blind people -Providers and recipients of income maintenance programs -In-home care programs -Subsidized housing -Nursing homes and homes for the blind
Chair:Elected by board
Authority:20 ILCS 2410/7

 Member Names

Name (Last, First)Term ExpiresMember SinceAffiliationAppointed ByPositionTitleCounty
Birmingham, Edward1/1/20227/1/2016GovernorMemberCook
Brewster, Teryl1/1/20177/22/2016GovernorMemberChampaign
Darnell, Jacqueline1/1/202111/7/2018GovernorMemberMadison
Ely, Mindy1/1/20229/21/2020GovernorMemberSangamon
Giannotti, Marco1/1/201912/2/2016GovernorMemberCook
Gordon, Freddie1/1/20229/25/2020GovernorMemberChampaign
Hamric, Leslie1/1/20198/12/2016GovernorMemberCook
Hawkins, Daniel1/1/20239/21/2020GovernorMemberSt Clair
Howerton, Sharon1/1/20193/31/2017GovernorSecretary, Member
Thompson, Dan1/1/20171/24/2014GovernorMemberMorgan
Webb, Andrew1/1/20211/2/2015GovernorChair, MemberCook