Illinois Board, Commission, Task Force and Council List

Boards and Commissions Detail | Skip to Member Names | View all Boards and Commissions

Title:African-American Fair Contracting Commission, Illinois
Meeting Information:

The Commission shall meet at least quarterly and annually publish a report of its finding to the Governor, the General Assembly, appropriate committees, and the public through the support of CMS. ​

Function:The purpose of the Commission is the ongoing study of the African-American-owned businesses and their participation in State contracting. The Commission shall be an advisory body that will not make binding recommendations or determinations.
Senate Confirmation:No
Composition:The Commission shall consist of the following members: Four members appointed by the Governor, three of whom must be from the Department of Central Management Services, the Capitol Development Board, the Department of Transportation, the Department of Children and Family Services, or the Department of Health and Family Services, and one of whom must be a representative of the BEP Council; Four members of the public, representing African-American-owned businesses, appointed by the Governor; One member of the House of Representatives appointed by the Speaker of the House of Representatives; One member of the House of Representatives, appointed by the Minority Leader of the House of Representatives; One member of the Senate appointed by the President of the Senate; and One member of the Senate appointed by the Minority Leader of the Senate.
Authority:Executive Order 7-2018

 Member Names

Name (Last, First)Term ExpiresMember SinceAffiliationAppointed ByPositionTitleCounty
Belt, Senator Christopher1/11/20234/22/2022Senate PresidentMember
Curran, Sen. John4/23/2021Minority Leader of the SenateMember
Ivory, Larry1/3/2019GovernorMember
Montgomery, Bruce1/3/2019GovernorMember
Neal, Michael1/3/2019GovernorMember
VACANTGovernorAgency Rep.
VACANTGovernorAgency Rep.
VACANTGovernorAgency Rep.
VACANTGovernorBEP Council Rep.
VACANTSpeaker of the HouseMember
VACANTMinority Leader of the House Member
Wilson, Willie1/3/2019GovernorMember