Illinois Board, Commission, Task Force and Council List

Boards and Commissions Detail | Skip to Member Names | View all Boards and Commissions

Title:Governor's Opioid Overdose Prevention and Recovery Steering Committee
Meeting Information:

​The Committee shall meet at least on a quarterly basis. 

Contact Name:Illinois Department of Human Services
Function:The purpose of the Committee is to guide the work of the Illinois Opioid Crisis Response Advisory Council, serving as the liasion between its stakeholders and the Governor's Office and overseeing the ongoing implementation of the Statewide Opioid Action Plan. The Committee shall: 1) Formulate a detailed implementation plan, including specific activities and metrics, for the execution of the strategies set forth in the SOAP; 2) Conduct a process evaluation of the implementation of the SOAP; and 3) Use the results of the process evaluation to inform the development and implementation of a new, three-year SOAP.
Senate Confirmation:No
Composition:The Committee shall be formed from the membership of the Council and shall consist of the following: a) the Lieutenant Governor or their designee; b) the Secretary of the Illinois Department of Human Services or their designee; c) the Director of the Illinois Department of Public Health; d) the Director of the Illinois Department of Healthcare and Family Services or their designee; e) the Director of the Illinois State Police or their designee, f) one of the Council Committee Chairs, to serve as the Council representative, elected bythe Council and; g) A person with a lived expereince of OUD, to be appointed by the Governor and compensated appropriately for their time devoted to the work of the Committee by the Illinois Department of Human Services, as determined by the Secretary of the Illinois Department of Human Services in keeping with all applicable State hiring and contracting laws and rules. The Lieutenant Governor, the Secretary of the Illinois Department of Human Services and the Director of the Illinois Department of Public Health shall serve as Co-Chairs.
Authority:Executive Order 2020-2

 Member Names

Name (Last, First)Term ExpiresMember SinceAffiliationAppointed ByPositionTitleCounty
Arriazola, SherieIllinois Opioid Crisis Response Advisory CouncilMember
Eagleson, TheresaExecutive OrderMember
Hou, GraceExecutive OrderCo-Chair
Kelly, BrendanExecutive OrderMember
Stratton, Lt. Governor JulianaExecutive OrderCo-Chair
Tomsha, Luke6/19/2020GovernorMemberLaSalle
Vohra, Dr. SameerExecutive OrderCo-Chair