Illinois Board, Commission, Task Force and Council List

Boards and Commissions Detail | Skip to Member Names | View all Boards and Commissions

Title:Cultural Districts Advisory Committee, State-Designated
Contact Name:Department of Commerce and Economic Opportunity
Contact Comments:
Function:The advisory committee will advise the Department on program rules and the certification process. As used in this Section, "State-designated cultural district" means a geographical area certified under this Section that has a distinct, historic, and cultural identity. Municipalities or 501(c)(3) organizations working on behalf of a certified geographical area should seek to: (1) Promote a distinct historic and cultural community. (2) Encourage economic development and supports entrepreneurship in the geographic area and community. (3) Encourage the preservation and development of historic and culturally significant structures, traditions, and languages. (4) Foster local cultural development and education. (5) Provide a focal point for celebrating and strengthening the unique cultural identity of the community. (6) Promote growth and opportunity without generating displacement or expanding inequality
Term:This Section is repealed on July 1, 2031.
Senate Confirmation:No
Qualifications: The advisory committee shall reflect the diversity of the State of Illinois, including geographic, racial, and ethnic diversity.
Composition:The advisory committee must include: (A) a representative of the Department of Commerce and Economic Opportunity appointed by the Director; (B) a representative of the Department of Agriculture appointed by the Director of Agriculture; (C) a representative of the Illinois Housing Development Authority appointed by the Executive Director of the Illinois Housing Development Authority; (D) two members of the House of Representatives appointed one each by the Speaker of the House of Representatives and the Minority Leader of the House of Representatives; (E) two members of the Senate appointed one each by the President of the Senate and the Minority Leader of the Senate; and (F) four community representatives appointed by the Governor representing diverse racial, ethnic, and geographic groups not captured in the membership of the other designees, with the input of community and stakeholder groups.
Authority:20 ILCS 605/605-1057

 Member Names

Name (Last, First)Term ExpiresMember SinceAffiliationAppointed ByPositionTitleCounty
Baren, Robert5/24/2022Director of AgricultureMemberDept. of Agriculture Representative
Butler, Rep. Tim3/7/2022Minority Leader of the House MemberState RepresentativeSangamon
Estrada, Rebecca2/15/2023Director of DCEOMemberDCEO RepresentativeNone
Lau, Chun Bun5/31/2022GovernorMemberCommunity RepresentativeCook
Limaye, Maneesh6/10/2022GovernorMemberCommunity RepresentativeCook
Mitchell, Stephen8/26/2022GovernorMemberCommunity Representative
Pacione-Zayas, Sen. Cristina 10/12/2021President of the SenateMemberState SenatorCook
Ramirez, Rep. Delia 9/3/2021Speaker of the HouseMemberState RepresentativeCook
Stoller, Sen. Win12/10/2021Minority Leader of the SenateMemberState SenatorWoodford
VACANTGovernorMemberCommunity Representative
Walton, Kristopher1/3/2022Illinois Housing Development Authority Executive Director MemberIHDA RepresentativeCook