Illinois Board, Commission, Task Force and Council List

Boards and Commissions Detail | Skip to Member Names | View all Boards and Commissions

Title:State Health Improvement Plan Implementation Coordination Council
Website:IDPH Advisory Boards
Contact Name:Nelson Agbodo
Contact Phone:217-782-0667
Function:The Council shall serve as a forum for collaborative action; coordinate existing and new initiatives; develop detailed implementation steps, with mechanisms for action; implement specific projects; identify public and private funding sources at the local, State and federal level; promote public awareness of the SHIP; advocate for the implementation of the SHIP; and develop an annual report to the Governor, General Assembly, and public regarding the status of implementation of the SHIP. The Council shall not, however, have the authority to direct any public or private entity to take specific action to implement the SHIP.
Senate Confirmation:No
Composition:The Council shallinclude the directors of State agencies and entities with public health system responsibilities (or their designees), including but not limited to; Department of Public Health; Department of Human Services; Department of Healthcare and Family Services; Environmental Protection Agency; Illinois State Board of Education; Department on Aging; Illinois Violence Prevention Authority; Department of Agriculture; Department of Insurance; Department of Financial and Professional Regulation; Department of Transportation, and; Department of Commerce and Economic Opportunity and; the Chair of the State Board of Health. ; The Council shall include representatives of local health departments and individuals with expertise who represent an array of organizations and constituencies engaged in public health improvement and prevention, including non-profit public interest groups, health issue groups, faith community groups, health care providers, businesses and employers, academic institutions, and community-based organizations.
Chair:The Governor shall designate one State agency representative and one other non-governmental member as co-chairs of the Council.
Authority:20 ILCS 5/5-565

 Member Names

Name (Last, First)Term ExpiresMember SinceAffiliationAppointed ByPositionTitleCounty
Arnold, Damon2/5/2021GovernorMemberCook
DeBoer, Sue11/16/2020Department on AgingMemberNone
Harrington, Joseph12/23/2020GovernorMemberCook
Hinkle, Hana12/23/2020GovernorMemberWinnebago
House, DougDepartment of TransportationMemberNone
Liu, Hong1/7/2021GovernorMemberCook
McGady, Shawn 2/16/2022Department of Human ServicesMemberNone
Miles, James Sr.1/7/2021GovernorMemberCook
Morthland, KateDepartment of InsuranceMemberNone
Nazem, Ziyad12/23/2020GovernorMemberCook
Patton-Whiteside, Elizabeth1/7/2021GovernorMemberSt Clair
Phelan, Karen12/23/2020GovernorMemberCook
Quraishi, Naila12/23/2020GovernorMemberCook
Stewart, Anita12/23/2020GovernorMemberCook
VACANTDepartment of Public HealthMemberNone
VACANTDepartment of Healthcare and Family ServicesMemberNone
VACANTIllinois State Board of EducationMemberNone
VACANTIllinois Violence Prevention AuthorityMemberNone
VACANTDepartment of AgricultureMemberNone
VACANTDepartment of Financial and Professional RegulationMemberNone
VACANTDepartment of Commerce and Economic OpportunityMemberNone
VACANTState Board of HealthMemberNone
Whetsell, Heather1/7/2021GovernorMemberChristian
Woods, Teschlyn11/13/2020Environmental Protection AgencyMemberNone