Illinois Board, Commission, Task Force and Council List

Boards and Commissions Detail | Skip to Member Names | View all Boards and Commissions

Title:Plain Language Task Force, Illinois
Contact Name:George Sweeney
Contact Title:Executive Aide, Office of the Governor
Contact Phone:312.814.2570
Contact Comments:Executive Aide, Office of the Governor
Function:The mission of the Illinois Plain Language Task Force is to conduct a study on, and to proposelegislative measures designed to realize: (1) the potential benefits of incorporating plain language in State government documents, statutes, and contracts into which the State enters; and (2) how plain language principles might be incorporated into the statutes governing contracts among private parties so as to provide additional protections to Illinois consumers, to reduce litigation between private parties over the meaning of contractual terms, and to foster judicial economy. Once all members have been appointed, the Task Force shall meet not less than once each quarter following the effective date of this Act to carry out the duties prescribed in this Act. An initial report delineating the Task Force's findings, conclusions, and recommendations shall be submitted to the Illinois General Assembly no later than 9 months after the effective date of this Act. Thereafter, the Task Force shall make periodic recommendations on its own motion or at the urging of the Illinois General Assembly. The Task Force shall be guided in its discussions on the subject of plain language by the guidelines for plain language drafting promulgated by the President of the United States on June 1, 1998, which accompanied his plain language Executive Memorandum issued on the same day.
Senate Confirmation:No
Compensation:Members shall serve without compensation.
Composition:one member appointed by the Illinois Attorney General; one member appointed by the Senate President; one member appointed by the Minority Leader of the Senate; one member appointed by the Speaker of the House; one member appointed by the Minority Leader of the House; and 3 members appointed by the Governor, one of whom represents the interests of the banking industry, one of whom represents the interests of the business community, and one of whom represents the interests of the consumers. At the discretion of the chair, additional individuals may participate as non-voting members in the meetings of the Task Force.
Chair:The Governor or his or her designee.
Authority:20 ILCS 4090/15

 Member Names

Name (Last, First)Term ExpiresMember SinceAffiliationAppointed ByPositionTitleCounty
Blackston, ElizabethAttorney GeneralMemberChief of the Consumer Fraud BureauSangamon
Franks, Jack2/10/2010Speaker of the HouseMemberState RepresentativeNone
Pritchard, BobHouse Minority LeaderMemberState RepresentativeNone
Shepherdson, Nancy2/6/2013GovernorMember, business communityLake
Tauchert, Patricia8/20/2010Senate PresidentMemberNone
VacantGovernorMember, consumersNone
VacantGovernorMember, Banking industryNone
Winkel, Richard4/26/2010Senate Minority LeaderMemberChampaign