Illinois Board, Commission, Task Force and Council List

Boards and Commissions Detail | Skip to Member Names | View all Boards and Commissions

Title:Racing Board, Illinois
Website:Illinois Racing Board
Contact Name:Domenic DiCera
Contact Title:Executive Director
Contact Phone:312.814.2600
Contact Comments:
Function:The Racing Board regulates horse racing and pari-mutuel wagering at state tracks and off-track wagering sites; issues licenses, allocates racing days, prescribes rules and imposes penalties for violations.
Term:6 years, expiring July 1 of staggered even-numbered years, and until successor is appointed and qualified
Senate Confirmation:Yes
Party Affiliation:No more than 6 from same political party
Qualifications:Not more than 6 members shall be of the same political party; Each member shall have a reasonable knowledge of harness or thoroughbred racing practices and procedure and of the principles of harness or thoroughbred racing and breeding; At the time of appointment, an appointee shall be a resident of the State of Illinois and shall have resided therein for a period of at least 5 years next preceding appointment and qualification and shall be a qualified voter therein and not less than 25 years of age.; No person shall be a member of the Board who is not of good moral character or who has been convicted of, or is under indictment for, a felony under the laws of Illinois or any other state of the United Stated; No member of the Board or employee shall engage in any political activity i) Board members and employees may not engage in communications or any activity that may cause or have the appearance of causing a conflict of interest. A conflict of interest exists if a situation influences or creates the appearance that it may influence judgment or performance of regulatory duties and responsibilities. This prohibition shall extend to any act identified by Board action that, in the judgment of the Board, could represent the potential for or the appearance of a conflict of interest. ii) Board members and employees may not accept any gift, gratuity, service, compensation, travel, lodging, or thing of value, with the exception of unsolicited items of an incidental nature, from any person, corporation, limited liability company, or entity doing business with the Board. iii) A Board member or employee shall not use or attempt to use his or her official position to secure, or attempt to secure, any privilege, advantage, favor, or influence for himself or herself or others. No Board member or employee, within a period of one year immediately preceding nomination by the Governor or employment, shall have been employed or received compensation or fees for services from a person or entity, or its parent or affiliate, that has engaged in business with the Board, a licensee or a licensee under the Illinois Gambling Act. In addition, all Board members and employees are subject to the restrictions set forth in Section 5-45 of the State Officials and Employees Ethics Act. o No person shall be appointed as a member of the Board or continue to be a member of the Board if the person or any member of their immediate family is a member of the Board of Directors, employee or financially interested in any of the following: i) Any licensee or other person who has applied for racing dates to the Board, or the operations thereof including, but not limited to, concessions, data processing, track maintenance, track security, and pari-mutuel operations, located, scheduled or doing business within the State of Illinois ii) Any racehorse competing at a meeting under the Board’s jurisdiction iii) Any licensee under the Illinois Gambling Act
Compensation:$300 per diem, not to exceed $13,462 per annum
Composition:11 members appointed by Governor
Chair:Designated by Governor
Authority:230 ILCS 5/4

 Member Names

Name (Last, First)Term ExpiresMember SinceAffiliationAppointed ByPositionTitleCounty
Beiser, Dan7/1/20268/23/2019DemocratGovernorChairMadison
Breuer, Jr., Leslie H. 7/1/20288/19/2022RepublicanGovernorMemberMadison
Doria, Beth7/1/20287/22/2021RepublicanGovernorMemberCook
Gray, Lydia7/1/20284/8/2021DemocratGovernorMemberKane
Murphy, Alyssa7/1/20282/17/2023IndependentGovernorMemberNone
Reyes, Benjamin7/1/20245/17/2019DemocratGovernorMemberCook
Saccone, Patricia7/1/202410/21/2022RepublicanGovernorMemberCook