Illinois Board, Commission, Task Force and Council List

Boards and Commissions Detail | Skip to Member Names | View all Boards and Commissions

Title:Property Tax Appeal Board
Website:Property Tax Appeal Board
Contact Name:Michael O’Malley
Contact Title:Executive Director
Contact Comments:
Function:The Board, upon request of citizens or taxing districts, reviews decisions of County Boards of Review, regarding assessment of property for taxation.
Term:6 years or until a successor is appointed and qualified, commencing the 3rd Monday in January
Senate Confirmation:Yes
Party Affiliation:No more than 3 from same political party
Qualifications:5 years experience and training in the field of public finance administration, at least 2 years of which shall be in the field of property appraisal and property tax administration
Compensation:Chairman, $69,538 per annum; Members, $56,079 per annum
Composition:5 appointed by Governor; Governor shall designate Chairperson.
Chair:Designated by Governor with advice and consent of Senate
Authority:35 ILCS 200/7-5

 Member Names

Name (Last, First)Term ExpiresMember SinceAffiliationAppointed ByPositionTitleCounty
Bilotta, James1/16/202310/28/2011RepublicanGovernorMemberWill
Buckley, Sarah1/20/20253/13/2020DemocratGovernorMemberCook
Freeman, Kevin1/20/202512/1/2003DemocratGovernorChairCook
Kinion, Dana1/18/20277/25/2016RepublicanGovernorMemberSangamon
Steffen, Robert1/18/20274/8/2021DemocratGovernorMemberCook