Illinois Board, Commission, Task Force and Council List

Boards and Commissions Detail | Skip to Member Names | View all Boards and Commissions

Title:Midwest Interstate Passenger Rail Commission
Website:Midwest Interstate Passenger Rail Commission
Contact Name:Laura Kliewer
Contact Title:Senior Policy Analyst, Midwestern Office, Council of State Governments
Contact Phone:630.925.1922
Function:The Midwest Interstate Passenger Rail Commission (MIPRC) brings together state leaders from across the region to advocate for passenger rail improvements. Formed by compact agreement in 2000, the MIPRC's current members are Illinois, Indiana, Kansas, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota, Ohio and Wisconsin.
Term:Gubernatorial terms are for the term of the governor (or until a successor is named); legislative appointments are for two years (or until a successor is named)
Senate Confirmation:No
Party Affiliation:N/A
Qualifications:Must be resident of the state (and meet the other qualifications in Composition section).
Compensation:Commissioners are reimbursed by the MIPRC for any MIPRC-related travel.
Composition:4 appointments from each state: \ The governor appoints two commissioners; (the governor or his/her designee and the governor’s private sector appointment); Legislative appointing authorities appoint one legislator from each chamber; The legislative appointments can also have alternates (optional).
Chair:Director, Office of Intermodal Project Implementation, Beth McCluskey
Authority:45 ILCS 78/15

 Member Names

Name (Last, First)Term ExpiresMember SinceAffiliationAppointed ByPositionTitleCounty
Guy, Robert8/3/2012GovernorMemberSMART Transportation DivisionCook
McCluskey, BethGovernorChair, Governor's designeeDirector, Office of Intermodal Project ImplementationNone
Michael HalpinSpeaker of the HouseMemberState RepresentativeNone
Stadelman, Sen. Steve 1/11/20235/24/2022Senate PresidentMemberState Senator
VACANTSenate PresidentMemberState SenatorNone